Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Bundesliga MD 2 viewing info

Leverkusen vs RB Leipzig highlights matchday 2: preview, stats, facts, and broadcast listings

September 24, 2020 By Michelle Bonsu
Bayer Leverkusen and RB Leipzig will be among the sides battling for a top four spot in the Bundesliga, and these two teams are set to lock horns on Saturday as matchday two get underway.

Highlight match: Bayer Leverkusen vs RB Leipzig

Both Bayer Leverkusen and RB Lepizig saw some major personnel changes this summer as both teams ended up seeing key players depart. For Die Werkself, they now have to make do without Kai Havertz, while die Bullen will look to restructure their attack sans Timo Werner. Both Werner and Havertz are now plying their trades in the Premier League with Chelsea, and both their former sides have attempted to replace them with some interesting new signings.

Leverkusen have brought in Roma's Patrik Schick for about €26.5 million, and the pressure will be on the Czech international to step up and deliver. Interestingly, Schick was on loan last season at Leipzig, but Julian Naglesmann opted not to make his move permanent despite trying to feature him - with varying levels of success - alongside star man Werner. Schick played about 30 minutes for die Werkself last round and failed to find the back of the net in a scoreless stalemate, but fans of the team will obviously hope that he'll get settled in quickly with his new teammates as Leverkusen hope to secure a top four spot this season.

Meanwhile, Leipzig have sought to bolster their attack with the signings of South Korean international Hwang Hee-chan from Salzburg for approximately €9 million, as well as Norwegian striker Alexander Sørloth for around €20 million. The visitors come into this match having earned a hard-fought 3-1 win over Mainz on opening day, and Hwang was involved in the tie as a sub for about 20 minutes.

Both teams come into this match on some solid form. Leipzig are unbeaten in 15 of their last 16 Bundesliga games, and are on a four away match winning streak. Leverkusen, meanwhile, have lost just two of their eight home Bundesliga fixtures, but Leipzig has proven to be a tough opponent - as they've won just one of their eight meetings with die Bullen since their opponents were promoted to the top tier in 2016.

 

Match details, result and original broadcast info

Bayer Leverkusen 1 - 1 RB Leipzig

September 26, 2020 9:30amBayArena (Leverkusen)

This match has ended. Below are the original Live broadcast details for this match.

Live TV coverage and streaming in United States

ESPN+
ESPN App

Interesting stats ahead of matchday two

  • Bayern Munich are now on a 23 game winning streak across all competitions - which is a new record for teams across Europe's "Big 5" leagues
  •  It's only matchday two, but two players have already scored the first hat-tricks of the season - Bayern's Serge Gnabry and Hoffenheim's Andrej Kramaric
  • Leipzig are on a four game winning streak on the road (and are unbeaten in their last seven away games)
  • Die Bullen have also lost just one of their last 16 Bundesliga ties
  • Although Leverkusen have won six of their last eight at home, they have won just one of their last eight meetings with Leipzig 

Team news ahead of matchday two - Who's definitely out, in doubt, and suspended?

Here are the key players who are definitely missing due to injury, suspension, or could be in doubt due to fitness or other issues and thus could miss out on upcoming matches for their respective sides heading into matchday two:

Bayern Munich: Coman (fitness issues), Nianzou (thigh)

Borussia Dortmund: Hazard (muscular problems), Morey (thigh), Piszczek (back), Schmelzer (knee), Schulz (calf), Zagadou (knee)

RB Leipzig: Hartmann (knee), Konate (fitness), Laimer (knee), Sabitzer (thigh)

Bayer Leverkusen: Paulinho (knee); Doubtful - Bailey (match fitness)

Borussia Moenchengladbach: Benes (ankle), Lazaro (calf), Poulsen (shoulder), Zakaria (match fitness); Doubtful - Embolo (match fitness)

Wolfsburg: Mbabu (knee), Pongracic (glandular fever), William (knee); Doubtful - Brekalo (foot)

Schalke: Mascarell (match fitness), Sane (knee), Serdar (thigh)

Matchday two listings

Below are the nine fixtures set to take place on matchday two:

Friday, September 25

11:30 PST/14:30 EST/18:30 GMT/20:30 CET - Hertha Berlin vs Eintracht Frankfurt

USA: ESPN+

Germany: TeleClub Sport Live, DAZN

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World

UK: BT Sport 1, BT Sport App, BTSport.com


Saturday, September 26

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Arminia Bielefeld vs Köln

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 5, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Ticket

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now


06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Augsburg vs Borussia Dortmund

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 2

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet World Now

UK: BT Sport ESPN, BT Sport App, BTSport.com


06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Bayer Leverkusen vs RB Leipzig

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 4, Sky Ticket

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World


06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Borussia M'gladbach vs Union Berlin

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 3, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Ticket

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now


06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Mainz 05 vs Stuttgart

USA: ESPN App

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 6

Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now


09:30 PST/12:30 EST/16:30 GMT/18:30 CET - Schalke 04 vs Werder Bremen

USA: ESPN+

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect, beIN SPORTS 3

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World

UK: BT Sport 1, BTSport.com, BT Sport App, BT Sport Ultimate


Sunday, September 27th:

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/13:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Hoffenheim vs Bayern München

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go

Australia: beIN Sports 1, Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Pacific

UK: BT Sport 1, BT Sport App, BTSport.com


09:30 PST/12:30 EST/16:30 GMT/18:30 CET - Freiburg vs Wolfsburg

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect, beIN SPORTS 3

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World

UK: BT Sport 2, BTSport.com, BT Sport App


If you do not live in the US, Australia, Canada, Germany or the UK, or live in a CET/GMT/EST/PST timezone, please check the schedule below for geo-targeted kick-off times and live broadcast listings for each of the Bundesliga matchday two fixtures:


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

SalzburgOct 21
12:55pm
Lokomotiv Moskva
Real MadridOct 21
12:55pm
Shakhtar Donetsk
Bayern MünchenOct 21
3:00pm
Atlético Madrid
InternazionaleOct 21
3:00pm
Borussia M'gladbach
AjaxOct 21
3:00pm
Liverpool
Bayer LeverkusenOct 22
12:55pm
Nice
Rapid WienOct 22
12:55pm
Arsenal
Bayern MünchenOct 24
9:30am
Eintracht Frankfurt
Mainz 05Oct 24
9:30am
Borussia M'gladbach
BarcelonaOct 24
10:00am
Real Madrid
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android