Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Broadcast guide for 2020 Scottish Women's PL

Official broadcast guide for Scottish Women's Premier League 2020: fixtures time, dates, TV and streaming schedule

February 21, 2020 By Juan Aguerrevere
With the newly structured Scottish Women's Premier League just around the corner, here is all the information you need to know to follow it.

When does the Scottish Women's Premier League start?

The newly improved Scottish Women's Premier League 1 kicks off on February 21, 2020, at 2:30 p.m. ET as Celtic will be taking on Glasgow City. 

What changes have been made for the Scottish Women's Premier League structure?

Scottish Women's Football has confirmed several changes to the structure of their leagues after the governing body surveyed teams and participated in a six-month consultation period.

The SWPL 1 will remain with eight teams while the SWPL 2 will now have 10 teams as opposed to eight. 

Automatic promotion and relegation will remain the same, meaning that the bottom-placed team is automatically relegated from the SWPL 1 while the winner of the SWPL 2 is promoted. In addition, SWF decided to spice things up a bit by adding play-off matches. In other words, the seventh-placed team in the SWPL 1 will play against the runner-up of the SWPL 2 in a one-legged play-off match. 

Who are the current champions?

Glasgow City has been the champions since the 2007-2008 season. Yes, 11 years in a row. The club has won the competition 14 times and finished as runner-up thrice. Glasgow's last final was a tight one as they won 4-3 against Hibernian.

Hibernian is the second-winningest club in this competition with three championships. But it is also the side with the most runner-up finishes, eight. It has been a frustrating last five seasons for the Hibs as they have fallen each time at the hands of Glasgow City.

Which teams are playing in the Scottish Women's Premier League 1?

1. Celtic

2. Forfar Farmington

3. Glasgow City FC

4. Heart of Midlothian Women FC

5. Hibernian FC

6. Motherwell FC

7. Rangers FC

8. Spartans

Who are the promoted and relegated teams?

Starting this season, two SWPL 2 teams will have the chance to promote to the SWPL 1. 

Winning the SWPL 2 is an automatic way to promote. The other way would be by the SWPL 2's second-place team defeating the SWPL 1's seventh place in the newly-added one-legged play-off match.

Promoted team:

Hearts of Midlothian Women FC

Relegated teams:

Stirling University

What are the key fixtures of the 2020 Scottish Women's Premier League season?

The first match of the season 

  • Celtic vs Glasgow City (Feb. 21, 2020)

The battle of the finalists

  • Glasgow City vs Hibernian (April 5, 2020)

The Old Firm

  • Rangers vs Celtic (April 5, 2020)

Battle of the greens

Hibernian vs Celtic (April 19, 2020)

What are the Scottish Premier League broadcasting channels (TV, online streaming and on-demand)?

TV: Scottish fans will be able to see the game via BBC Alba TV, a Gaelic language channel television offered by the BBC and MG Alba in the UK on multiple platforms. 

Online Streaming: You can stream the games via BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport Live. 

Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

SouthamptonJan 26
ChelseaJan 27
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Manchester UnitedJan 27
Sheffield United
Tottenham HotspurJan 28
Bayern MünchenJan 30
Borussia DortmundJan 30
Union BerlinJan 30
Borussia M'gladbach
Real MadridJan 30
RB LeipzigJan 30
Bayer Leverkusen
ArsenalJan 30
Manchester United
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV AppLive Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android