Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
EPL stars dominate in the The Best Award nominees

Premier League stars dominate as FIFA announces nominees for The Best Awards

November 22, 2021 By Emmanuel K. Budu-Annor
The English top-flight league had a greater share of representation in this year's awards being organised by FIFA.

FIFA has announced the candidates shortlisted for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2021, with 22 representatives from the English Premier League included across both the men's and women's categories. The nominees shortlist was publicized on Monday following deliberations by two expert panels, and the winners will reportedly be revealed at an online ceremony on 17 January 2022.

For the umpteenth time, Lione Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo headlined the nominees for The Best FIFA Awards, with Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski also getting the nod to compete the honor of the Men's Player of the Year. All in all, it Chelsea who scored the most representation with 10 spanning across both the men's and women's list. 

Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes are in the running for the Best FIFA Men's and Women's Coach of 2021 respectively, whereas Edouard Mendy and Ann-Katrin Berger received nominations to contest for the best men's and women's Goalkeeper of the Year award. Bar Manchester United and Chelsea, Man City and Liverpool were the other two clubs to have had representatives in Kevin De Bryune and Mohamed Salah on the shortlist.

The Spanish La Liga followed suit with nine representatives while the French Ligue 1 completed the top three. Here is all you need to know to stay up to date ahead of the awards.

Who are the players shortlisted for The Best Men's Player of the Year?

  1. Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid)

  2. Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)

  3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Juventus / Manchester United)

  4. Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich)

  5. Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona / Paris Saint-Germain)

  6. Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)

  7. Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund)

  8. Jorginho (Italy / Chelsea) N'Golo Kante (France / Chelsea)

  9. Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

  10. Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool) 

Who are the players shortlisted for The Best Women's Player of the Year?

  1. Stina Blackstenius (Sweden / BK Hacken)

  2. Aitana Bonmati (Spain / Barcelona)

  3. Lucy Bronze (England / Manchester City WFC)

  4. Magdalena Eriksson (Sweden / Chelsea FC Women)

  5. Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / Barcelona)

  6. Pernille Harder (Denmark / Chelsea FC Women)

  7. Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / Barcelona)

  8. Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea FC Women)

  9. Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea FC Women)

  10. Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal WFC)

  11. Ellen White (England / Manchester City WFC)

  12. Alexia Putellas (Spain / Barcelona)

  13. Christine Sinclair (Canada / Portland Thorns) 

Who are the coaches shortlisted for the The Best FIFA Women's Coach of the Year award?

  1. Lluis Cortes (Spain / Barcelona)

  2. Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden / Swedish national team)

  3. Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)

  4. Beverly Priestman (England / Canadian national team)

  5. Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team / English national team)

Who are the coaches shortlisted for the The Best FIFA Men's Coach of the Year award?

  1. Antonio Conte (Italy / Inter / Tottenham Hotspur)

  2. Hansi Flick (Germany / Bayern Munich / German national team)

  3. Pep Guardiola (Spain / Manchester City)

  4. Roberto Mancini (Italy / Italian national team)

  5. Lionel Sebastian Scaloni (Argentina / Argentinian national team)

  6. Diego Simeone (Argentina / Atletico Madrid)

  7. Thomas Tuchel (Germany / Chelsea)

Who are the women shortlisted for The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper of the Year?

  1. Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)

  2. Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain / Olympique Lyonnais)

  3. Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbe (Canada / Rosengard / Paris Saint-Germain)

  4. Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / Atletico Madrid Femenino)

  5. Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)

Who are the men shortlisted for The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper of the Year?

  1. Alisson Becker (Brazil / Liverpool)

  2. Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy / AC Milan / Paris Saint-Germain)

  3. Edouard Mendy (Senegal / Chelsea FC)

  4. Manuel Neuer (Germany / Bayern Munich)

  5. Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark / Leicester City)

When does voting start for The Best FIFA Awards?

Public voting for the respective categories will be open until December 10, 2021.

Where will The Best FIFA Awards be held?

According to FIFA, the awards will take place as a virtual event from its headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. The arrangement is in line with ongoing public health measures to prevent the spread of the Covid-19 virus.

When will the winners of The Best FIFA Awards be announced?

Ultimately, FIFA will announce three finalists for each award category on January 17, 2022.







Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

ArsenalAug 13
Leicester City
BrentfordAug 13
Manchester United
BarcelonaAug 13
Rayo Vallecano
Bayern MünchenAug 14
ChelseaAug 14
Tottenham Hotspur
AlmeríaAug 14
Real Madrid
LiverpoolAug 15
Crystal Palace
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android