Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
What times will WC games start in Africa?

What times will the FIFA World Cup games start in Africa

November 12, 2022 By Ali M.
The 2022 FIFA World Cup is upon us, as Africa's five representatives prepare to do battle in Qatar in an attempt to reach the knockout stage.

After four years and a couple of months of waiting, the world's most prestigious tournament returns. Fans from across the globe flock to Qatar as 32 teams prepare to battle it out on the grand stage for the most iconic trophy in the history of the beautiful game.

France, who lifted the title in Russia four years back, enter this competition as the defending champions, with Brazil, Argentina, England, Germany, Spain, and the Netherlands all aiming to usurp Les Bleus.

Meanwhile, Africa will again have five participants at the FIFA World Cup, including the reigning AFCON champions Senegal, led by Bayern Munich superstar Sadio Mane. However, the Lions of Teranga aren't the only African side dreaming of making the knockout stage.

Cameroon are in Group G alongside Brazil, Serbia, and Switzerland, meaning competition for a round of 16 ticket will be extremely difficult. Ghana, meanwhile, will have to battle with Portugal, Uruguay, and South Korea for one of two tickets to the next round.

Morocco and Tunisia, the two other CAF representatives, are also up against the odds. Nonetheless, the fans will back their country through thick and thin. Here's everything you need to know in order to catch their matches live in Africa.

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup group stages begin in Africa?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup group stage matches will begin on November 20th and will end on December 2nd. Hosts Qatar take on Ecuador in the opening match, with this tie kicking off at 16:00 GMT/17:00 WAT (West Africa Time)/18:00 CAT (Central Africa Time)/19:00 EAT (East Africa Time).

From November 21st to December 2nd, kick-off times will vary. In the first two matchdays, the matches will be held in four different slots: at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT, 13:00 GMT/14:00 WAT/15:00 CAT/16:00 EAT, 16:00 GMT/17:00 WAT/18:00 CAT/19:00 EAT, and 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT. The only exception is on November 21 when there are only three games taking place instead of four, meaning no 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT match.

The final group stage matchday fixtures will kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT and 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT.

Here is the schedule of games involving African teams with kick-off times shown in GMT, WAT, CAT, and EAT for fans all over the continent.

Monday, November 21st - Senegal vs Netherlands - kick off at 16:00 GMT/17:00 WAT/18:00 CAT/19:00 EAT*

Tuesday, November 22nd - Denmark vs Tunisia - kick off at 13:00 GMT/14:00 WAT/15:00 CAT/16:00 EAT*

Wednesday, November 23rd - Morocco vs Croatia - kick off at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT*

Thursday, November 24th -  Switzerland vs Cameroon - kick off at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT*

Thursday, November 24th -  Portugal vs Ghana - kick off at 16:00 GMT/17:00 WAT/18:00 CAT/19:00 EAT*

Friday, November 25th -  Qatar vs Senegal - kick off at 13:00 GMT/14:00 WAT/15:00 CAT/16:00 EAT*

Saturday, November 26th -  Tunisia vs Australia - kick off at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT*

Sunday, November 27th - Belgium vs Morocco  - kick off at 13:00 GMT/14:00 WAT/15:00 CAT/16:00 EAT*

Monday, November 28th - Cameroon vs Serbia - kick off at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT*

Monday, November 28th - South Korea vs Ghana - kick off at 13:00 GMT/14:00 WAT/15:00 CAT/16:00 EAT*

Tuesday, November 30th - Ecuador vs Senegal - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT*

Wednesday, November 30th - Tunisia vs France - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT*

Thursday, December 1st - Canada vs Morocco - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT*

Friday, December 2nd - Ghana vs Uruguay - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT*

Friday, December 2nd - Cameroon vs Brazil - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT*

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup round of 16 begin in Africa?

After the group stages, the round of 16 will run from December 3rd to December 6th. Matches will either kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT or 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT.

Here's the schedule of round of 16 matches for fans based in Africa.

Saturday, December 3rd - 1st in Group A vs 2nd in Group B - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Saturday, December 3rd - 1st in Group C vs 2nd in Group D - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

Sunday, December 4th - 1st in Group D vs 2nd in Group C - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Sunday, December 4th - 1st in Group B vs 2nd in Group A - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Monday, December 5th - 1st in Group E vs 2nd in Group F - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

Monday, December 5th - 1st in Group G vs 2nd in Group H - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

Tuesday, December 6th - 1st in Group F vs 2nd in Group E - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Tuesday, December 6th - 1st in Group H vs 2nd in Group G - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup quarter-finals begin in Africa?

Following the conclusion of the round of 16, the quarter-finals will run from December 9th to December 10th. Matches will either kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT or 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT.

Here's the schedule of quarter-finals matches for fans based in Africa.

Friday, December 9th - Quarter Final #1 - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Friday, December 9th - Quarter Final #2 - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

Saturday, December 10th - Quarter Final #3 - kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT

Saturday, December 10th - Quarter Final #4 - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup semi-finals begin in Africa?

After the quarter-finals wrap up, the focus shifts to the semi-finals, which will start on December 13th and finish on December 14th. Both matches will kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT.

Here's the schedule of semi-finals matches for fans based in Africa.

Tuesday, December 13th - Semi Final #1 - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

Wednesday, December 14th - Semi Final #2 - kick off at 19:00 GMT/20:00 WAT/21:00 CAT/22:00 EAT

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup third-place match begin in Africa?

The third-place match will kick off at 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT on Saturday, December 17th.

What time will the 2022 FIFA World Cup final begin in Africa?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup final will take place on Sunday, December 18th, with a kick-off time of 15:00 GMT/16:00 WAT/17:00 CAT/18:00 EAT


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Real MadridJan 29
3:00pm
Real Sociedad
Real BetisFeb 1
3:00pm
Barcelona
Real MadridFeb 2
3:00pm
Valencia
ChelseaFeb 3
3:00pm
Fulham
EvertonFeb 4
7:30am
Arsenal
Wolverhampton WanderersFeb 4
10:00am
Liverpool
Manchester UnitedFeb 4
10:00am
Crystal Palace
MallorcaFeb 5
8:00am
Real Madrid
WolfsburgFeb 5
11:30am
Bayern München
BarcelonaFeb 5
3:00pm
Sevilla
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android