Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
WTW Bundesliga MD 14

Dortmund vs Wolfsburg highlights Bundesliga MD 14: TV listings, team news, key match stats

December 30, 2020 By Michelle Bonsu
Bundesliga fans don't have to wait too much longer as Germany's top flight resumes action on Saturday, January 2nd. Here's all you need to know ahead of matchday 14, which will feature Dortmund vs Wolfsburg.

So after a break that lasted a bit over two weeks, the Bundesliga is now back in action. This season's Christmas break was a lot shorter than in previous years. That's because COVID-19 disrupted the 2019/2020 campaign, forcing the prior season to end a lot later, and as a result, everything has had to be shuffled around - so that meant a shorter break for the players this winter.

For the fans, however, it means that football returns a lot sooner, and the latest batch of fixtures starts this Saturday, with Dortmund vs Wolfsburg being a highlight game you certainly don't want to miss.

Preview: Dortmund vs Wolfsburg

Currently in fifth and fourth respectively, both Dortmund and Wolfsburg will be eager to get up and running in their first league match of 2021. Die Schwarzgelben did not have a good December, and headed into the Christmas hiatus having won just one of their last five Bundesliga games. That includes losing their last league tie of 2020, and in fact, they finished the calendar year with three losses in five league ties. The worst of these was a shocking 5-1 home loss to newly promoted Stuttgart that ultimately cost Lucien Favre his job, and now the team is under the guidance of Edin Terzic for the time being.

However, the home side have been given a huge boost with the return of Erling Haaland to action. The Norwegian striker had missed the last seven games for Dortmund (across all comps) due to a hamstring injury, but has since recovered and will feature in the starting XI this weekend.

Meanwhile, Wolfsburg, who have had a great start to the season, recovered well after Bayern ended their unbeaten run this season. Oliver Glasner's men headed into the break having beaten Stuttgart 1-0 to ensure they remained in fourth place, and will be hoping to take advantage of Dortmund's shaky form as they also look to end a frustrating hoodoo against the die Schwarzgelben. To date, the visitors have lost nine of their last ten meetings with Dortmund across all comps. Will that run end this weekend?

Talking points ahead of Bundesliga matchday 14

No home pitch comforts for Stuttgart in 2020 - can they improve in 2021?

Interestingly, Stuttgart, who were promoted last season and currently sit in seventh, are one of those sides who have done better away from home than on their own turf. In fact, they have yet to win a single game at home all season, and will come into their match with Leipzig hoping to end that run once action resumes this upcoming weekend. However, that will be much easier said than done as Leipzig, who sit in third and are only two points behind league leaders Bayern, have been outstanding in their travels and have lost just one of their last 13 Bundesliga games on the road.

The title race gets back underway...and Bayern will be keen on pulling away from the pack

Bayern may have headed into the Christmas break on top of the table, but only by a slim margin. Only two points separated die Roten from Bayer Leverkusen, who have had a very impressive campaign to date, and RB Leipzig are also right up there in the table as they look to finally dislodge the Bavarian titans as champions of Germany. Fortunately for Hansi Flick's side, their first game back in 2021 is a pretty smooth sailing one - on paper, at least. They'll be welcoming relegation threatened Mainz , a team who have won just one of their last 14 Bundesliga games, and given that Bayern, not surprisingly, are undefeated in their last 16 league fixtures at the Allianz Arena, this game presents the perfect opportunity for the reigning champs to warm-up for the upcoming campaign without much fuss. 

Bundesliga matchday 14: Team news

Below you will find the list of players who are either:

  • Definite absentees due to injury, illness, or some other reason
  • Potential absentees due to injury, illness, or some other reason (in doubt)
  • Suspended

Bayern Munich: Nianzou (thigh)

Borussia Dortmund: Moukoko (knee), Schmelzer (knee)

Bayer Leverkusen: L. Bender (thigh), S. Bender (knee), Palacios (back), Paulinho (knee), Aranguiz (Achilles tendon), Arias (ankle), Wendell (COVID-19), Sinkgraven (COVID-19)

RB Leipzig: Hwang (COVID-19), Klostermann (knee), Kluivert (calf), Konate (ankle), Laimer (knee), Nkunku (ankle), Henrichs (knee); Mukiele (knock)

Wolfsburg: Mehmedi (Achilles tendon), Pervan (COVID-19), Philipp (undisclosed injury), Roussillon (COVID-19)

Borussia Moenchengladbach: Thuram (suspended); Bensebaini (COVID-19), Plea (muscular)

Stuttgart: Thommy (elbow), Al Ghaddioui (pelvis); Didavi (knock), Karazor (knee), Mavropanos (knock)

Bundesliga matchday 14: Key stats

Here are some interesting stats ahead of matchday 14 of the 2020/2021 Bundesliga season:

  • Bayern are undefeated in their last 16 home matches...
  • ...which doesn't bode well for visiting side Mainz, who have won just one of their last 14 Bundesliga games
  • Although Wolfsburg are undefeated in 12 of their last 13 matches...
  • ...that good run doesn't extend to when it comes to playing against Borussia Dortmund, who have won 9 of their last 10 matches against Wolfsburg across all competitions
  • Although Stuttgart are having a solid season, they have not done so well at home, where they have failed to win their last 6 home matches...
  • ...by contrast, Leipzig are undefeated in 12 of their last 13 away matches

Where to watch all of Bundesliga matchday 14 matches

If you live in the US, UK, Germany, Australia, or Canada, check out this list to find where you can catch all nine of the games taking place on matchday 14:

Saturday, January 2nd

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Arminia Bielefeld vs Borussia M'gladbach

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Sport Bundesliga 2, Sky Sport Bundesliga UHD, Sky Ticket, Sky Go

Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports

Canada: Sportsnet World, Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Eintracht Frankfurt vs Bayer Leverkusen

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 3, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1

Australia: beIN SPORTS 3, beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet Pacific

UK: BT Sport 3, BT Sport App, BTSport.com

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Hoffenheim vs Freiburg

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 6, Sky Ticket

Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports

Canada: Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World Now

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Köln vs Augsburg

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga 5, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Ticket

Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Werder Bremen vs Union Berlin

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Ticket, Sky Sport Bundesliga 4

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now

09:30 PST/12:30 EST/17:30 GMT/18:30 CET -  Hertha BSC vs Schalke 04

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Sport Bundesliga UHD, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Go, Sky Ticket

Australia: Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet World, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet East

11:30 PST/14:30 EST/19:30 GMT/20:30 CET - Stuttgart vs RB Leipzig

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Blue Sport, DAZN

Australia: beIN SPORTS 3, Kayo Sports, beIN Sports Connect

Canada: Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet World, Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet West

UK: BT Sport 3, BT Sport App, BTSport.com

Sunday, January 3rd

06:30 PST/09:30 EST/14:30 GMT/15:30 CET - Borussia Dortmund vs Wolfsburg

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Ticket

Australia: beIN Sports Connect, Kayo Sports, beIN SPORTS 3

Canada: Sportsnet West, Sportsnet World, Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet World Now, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Now

UK: BT Sport 2, BT Sport App, BTSport.com

09:00 PST/12:00 EST/17:00 GMT/18:00 CET - Bayern München vs Mainz 05

USA: ESPN+

Germany: Sky Go, Sky Sport Bundesliga 1, Sky Ticket

Australia:

Canada: Sportsnet East, Sportsnet Now, Sportsnet Ontario, Sportsnet Pacific, Sportsnet West, Sportsnet World, Sportsnet World Now           

UK: BT Sport 2, BT Sport App, BTSport.com

If you live outside those aforementioned countries, no worries, because we've still got you covered. Simply just check out our bespoke Bundesliga page for global broadast listings and search for your specific country to find live streaming and TV broadcasts for whichever game you're hoping to catch over the weekend. 


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Sheffield UnitedFeb 28
2:15pm
Liverpool
RomaFeb 28
2:45pm
Milan
Olympique MarseilleFeb 28
3:00pm
Olympique Lyonnais
VillarrealFeb 28
3:00pm
Atlético Madrid
Boca JuniorsFeb 28
7:30pm
Sarmiento
GuadalajaraFeb 28
10:00pm
Pumas UNAM
Real MadridMar 1
3:00pm
Real Sociedad
Crystal PalaceMar 3
3:15pm
Manchester United
LiverpoolMar 4
3:15pm
Chelsea
BurnleyMar 6
7:30am
Arsenal
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android