Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Preview: Matchday 1 of the 2020/21 EPL season

Liverpool vs Leeds headlines Matchday 1 of Premier League 2020/21 season: live streaming and TV listings to watch worldwide

September 9, 2020 By Ali M.
The Reds and the Whites lock horns in the opening day live on live on NBC Sports and Telemundo in the USA. Live Soccer TV previews this juicy fixture, as well as provides where to watch all the other games on MD 1.

The Premier League is back! Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, players and fans did not have to wait long for the English top-flight to return, but the upcoming 2020/21 season will be welcomed nonetheless. The world's most popular league will resume action on Saturday, September 12 with four games, but the fun does not stop there.

Sunday will see another two fixtures take place followed by another two on Monday. It should be noted that both Man City and Man Utd will not take to the field until Matchday 2 due to their run in Europe last season. Will Liverpool kick off their title defense with a win? Will Chelsea start their promising season with a bang? Can Arsenal continue their impressive form into the new campaign? Here's all you need to know about Matchday 1 of the 2020/21 Premier League season.

Match of the weekend: Liverpool vs Leeds

The new season could not have kicked off in better fashion. Premier League champions Liverpool take on last season's Championship winners Leeds in what should be an entertaining game. The Whites will play an English top-flight game for the first time in 16 years and they could not have asked for a more difficult tie.

It has been more than three years since Klopp's side lost a home game, with their last Anfield defeat coming way back in April 2017. That is a whopping 59-game unbeaten run for the Merseyside giants, with the sole aim come Saturday's showdown being to make it 60 straights games with a loss. It should also be noted that Van Dijk and Co. have also won all but one of their last 26 domestic home fixtures – the 1-1 draw with Burnley is the only stain to a near-perfect record. 

The last time these two sides faced off was back in November 2016 in the League Cup. Liverpool emerged triumphant 2-0, with Divock Origi and Ben Woodburn scoring for the Reds. A lot has changed since then – both teams have improved tremendously and should enjoy a better duel this time around. Having scored 85 and 77 league goals respectively last season, Liverpool and Leeds is the game to watch in the opening round of the 2020/21 campaign.

 

Match details, result and original broadcast info

Liverpool 4 - 3 Leeds United

September 12, 2020 12:30pmAnfield (Liverpool)

This match has ended. Below are the original Live broadcast details for this match.

Live TV coverage and streaming in United States

NBC USA
fuboTV
NBCSports.com
Telemundo
NBC Sports App
Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

Talking points ahead of Matchday 1

Will the major summer signings dazzle on Matchday 1?

Quick note: since Man City and Man Utd will not be in action this round, the likes of Nathan Ake, Ferran Torres, and Donny van de Beek have been overlooked. However, the likes of Kai Havertz, Timo Werner, Hakim Ziyech, Willian, James Rodriguez, and Fabio Silva cannot. The aforementioned signings could make their debuts in the opening round and will be keen on hitting the ground running. Football fans will have their eyes glued to the screens so it will be interesting to see who shines on Matchday 1.

How will the newboys fare without the fans in their first game back?

Newly-promoted sides always enter a new Premier League season buzzing. There is nothing like graduating from the Championship to play with England's big boys. However, one interesting factor is the lack of fans and how it could affect the likes of Leeds, West Brom, and Fulham. The Whites will be traveling to Liverpool for the first game but the other two are scheduled to play at home against Leicester and Arsenal respectively. Will they be able to overcome the Foxes and the Gunners without home support? Tune in to find out.

Team news ahead of Matchday 1 - Who's definitely out, in doubt, and suspended?

Arsenal: Calum Chambers (injured), Gabriel Martinelli (injured), Pablo Mari (injured), Shkodran Mustafi (injured), David Luiz (doubt)

Chelsea: Ben Chilwell (injured), Billy Gilmour (injured), Christian Pulisic (doubt), Hakim Ziyech (doubt), Matteo Kovacic (suspended)

Everton: Cenk Tosun (injured), Jean-Philippe Gbamin (injured), Fabian Delph (injured), Andre Gomes (doubt), Mason Holgate (doubt)

Liverpool: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (injured), Jordan Henderson (doubtful – match fitness)

Tottenham: Giovani Lo Celso (doubt)

Matchday 1 listings

Below are the other seven fixtures set to take place on Matchday 1 in the 2020/21 Premier League season:

Saturday, September 12th:

04:30 PT/7:30 ET/11:30 GMT/13:30 CEST – Fulham vs Arsenal

USA: UNIVERSO, NBCSN, NBCSports.com, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App, UNIVERSO NOW

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: BT Sport App, BT Sport 1, BT Sport Ultimate, BTSport.com, BT Sport Extra


07:00 PT/10:00 ET/14:00 GMT/16:00 CEST – Crystal Palace vs Southampton

USA: UNIVERSO NOW, NBCSports.com, NBCSN, UNIVERSO, NBC Sports App, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: BT Sport Ultimate, BT Sport App, BTSport.com, BT Sport 1, BT Sport Extra


12:00 PT/15:00 ET/19:00 GMT/21:00 CEST – West Ham vs Newcastle

USA: Peacock

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: Premier Player HD


Sunday, September 13th 

06:00 PT/09:00 ET/13:00 GMT/15:00 CEST – West Brom vs Leicester

USA: NBC Sports App, NBCSports.com, NBCSN, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, Telemundo

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Premier League, SKY GO Extra, BBC Radio


08:30 PT/11:30 ET/15:30 GMT/17:30 CEST – Tottenham vs Everton

USA: Peacock

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: Sky Sports Premier League, SKY GO Extra, Sky Sports Main Event


Monday, September 14th

10:00 PT/13:00 ET/17:00 GMT/19:00 CEST – Sheffield United vs Wolves

USA: NBCSports.com, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App, UNIVERSO, UNIVERSO NOW, NBCSN

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN


12:15 PT/15:15 ET/19:15 GMT/21:15 CEST – Brighton vs Chelsea

USA: Peacock

Australia: Optus Sport

Canada: DAZN

UK: Sky Sports Premier League, SKY GO Extra, Sky Sports Main Event


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

LiverpoolMar 7
9:00am
Fulham
Atlético MadridMar 7
10:15am
Real Madrid
Manchester CityMar 7
11:30am
Manchester United
ChelseaMar 8
1:00pm
Everton
JuventusMar 9
3:00pm
Porto
Borussia DortmundMar 9
3:00pm
Sevilla
PSGMar 10
3:00pm
Barcelona
LiverpoolMar 10
3:00pm
RB Leipzig
Manchester UnitedMar 11
12:55pm
Milan
Olympiakos PiraeusMar 11
3:00pm
Arsenal
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android