Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
ESPN, Univision Deportes, TSN 2019 MLS coverage

2019 Major League Soccer broadcast guide: ESPN, Univision Deportes, and TSN live streaming schedule

March 2, 2019 By Michelle Bonsu
The 2019 MLS season will be soon underway, with new expansion club FC Cincinnati eager to join the mix and Atlanta United seeking to defend their MLS Cup. ESPN will be carrying over 30 of the games during the regular season, and here's all you need to know to follow your favorite team starting from this March.

The 2018 MLS season is done and dusted, and fans of the American/Canadian league certainly can not wait for the next edition to come up soon. For now, they will have to contend themselves with European football, but they will not have to fret, as the 2019 MLS campaign is just around the corner.

With a new team joining the mix this year, the 2019 term is certain to be even more exciting than its predecessor, and here's all you need to know ahead of the upcoming installment of MLS action kicking place in less than two months' time.

When does the 2019 MLS season begin?

The 2019 MLS regular season will begin on March 2, 2019 and end on October 6, 2019. After that, the MLS Cup Playoffs will commence just under two weeks later, on October 19, 2019 and will end with the MLS Cup Final on November 10, 2019.

Which teams are playing in the 2019 MLS season?

This season will see FC Cincinnati joining the franchise, so now there will be 24 teams in total competing in MLS. Unlike the European leagues, MLS does not have a relegation and promotion scheme, and the competition is split into two conferences: the Western Conference and the Eastern Conference.

With 24 teams, both conferences will now have 12 teams in each, as opposed to last term, which saw the Eastern Conference have just 11 versus the Western Conference's 12.

Who are the current champions?

There are two reigning champions in MLS at the moment. In terms of the Supporters' Shield, that honor goes to the New York Red Bulls, who won their third title due to enjoying the best regular season record. Meanwhile, Atlanta United won their first ever MLS Cup by beating Portland Timbers 2-0 in the final on December 8, 2018.

Where to watch the 2019 MLS season on ESPN

ESPN will be carrying over 30 games from the upcoming 2019 MLS season. Here are some of the earlier season fixtures you certainly won't want to miss:

D.C. United vs Atlanta United FC  (Sunday, March 3rd at 18:00 EST/15:00 PST)

Los Angeles vs Sporting Kansas City (Sunday, March 3rd at 20:00 EST/17:00 PST)

Atlanta United FC vs FC Cincinnati (Sunday, March 10th at 17:00 EST/14:00 PST)

Here are the six games which will be shown only on ESPN2:

- LA Galaxy vs Portland Timbers (Sunday, March 31 at 21:00 EST/18:00 PST)

- Minnesota United vs New York City FC (Saturday, April 13 at 17:00 EST/14:00 PST)  

- Los Angeles FC vs FC Dallas (Thursday, May 16 at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

- Portland Timbers vs Los Angeles FC (Saturday, June 1 at 22:30 EST/19:30 PST)

- LA Galaxy vs Seattle Sounders FC (Saturday, August 17 at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

- New York City FC vs New York Red Bulls (Saturday, August 24 at 19:00 EST/16:00 PST) - Hudson River Derby

ESPN will cover all the other 25 games which were not in that list of six fixtures, including the "El Trafico" Derby between Los Angeles FC and LA Galaxy and the Cascadia Cup clash featuring Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders:

- LA Galaxy vs Los Angeles FC (Friday, July 19 at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

- Portland Timbers vs Seattle Sounders FC (Friday, August 23 at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

And of course, make sure not to miss Decision Day, shown exclusively on ESPN:

- Decision Day (Sunday, October 6 at 16:00 EST/13:00 PST)

All 31 games will be shown on ESPN's Spanish network, ESPN Deportes. In addition, Univision Deportes will be carrying 27 games during the regular season, so Spanish-speaking fans do have an alternate option to follow their favorite sides.

Univision will also be providing coverage of the 2019 MLS Cup, the MLS All-Star Game, and a pair of MLS play-off matches. Additionally, fans can stream their favorite team's matches via Univision Now, UnivisionDeportes.com, and the Univision Deportes app on their mobile devices.

Below you will find some of the key games that Univison Deportes will be showing, including Orlando City's clash with New York City on opening day this weekend.

Key games showing on Univision Deportes during the 2019 MLS season

Here are some of the must-watch matches that Univision will be carrying during the upcoming season, including four double headers on May 24, June 28, July 12, and August 21:

- Orlando City SC vs New York City (Saturday, March 2nd at 14:30 EST/11:30 PST)

- Dallas vs LA Galaxy (Saturday, March 9th at 15:30 EST/12:30 PST)

- New York RB vs SJ Earthquakes (Saturday, March 16th at 15:30 EST/12:30 PST)

- SJ Earthquakes vs Los Angeles FC (Saturday, March 30th at 14:30 EST/11:30 PST)

- LA Galaxy vs Houston Dynamo (Friday, April 19th at 22:30 EST/19:30 PST)

- Orlando City SC vs LA Galaxy (Friday, May 24th at 20:00 EST/17:00 PST)

- Real Salt Lake vs Atlanta United (Friday, May 24th at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

- New York RB vs Chicago Fire (Friday, June 28th at 20:00 EST/17:00 PST)

- Colorado Rapids vs Los Angeles FC (Friday, June 28th at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

- Houston Dynamo vs Los Angeles FC (Friday, July 12th at 21:00 EST/18:00 PST)

- LA Galaxy vs SJ Earthquakes (Friday, July 12th at 23:00 EST/20:00 PST)

- DC United vs New York RB (Wednesday, August 21st at 20:00 EST/17:00 PST)

- Los Angeles FC vs SJ Earthquakes (Wednesday, August 21st at 22:30 EST/19:30 PST)

And for Canadian-based fans, TSN will be providing dedicated English-language coverage throughout the season. In addition to the MLS Cup play-offs, the 2019 MLS Cup, and the 2019 MLS All-Star Game, TSN will carry all of Vancouver Whitecaps and Toronto FC's matches for the entire course of the upcoming campaign. However, the channel will not provide coverage for all of Montreal Impact's matches - only 12 in total - but will provide coverage of other non-Canadian team's matches.

If tuning in via radio is your thing, you are also in luck. TSN Vancouver 1040 and BNN Bloomberg Radio 1410 will be teaming up to broadcast all games featuring Vancouver Whitecaps. Meanwhile, TSN Montreal 690 and TSN Toronto 1050 will be carrying select Montreal Impact and Toronto FC games.

For French-speaking fans, your source will be TVA, which will show one to two games per each matchday.

Another option for Canadian fans is DAZN Canada through which supporters can access MLS Live.

Key games showing on TSN during the 2019 MLS season

Philadelphia Union vs Toronto FC (Saturday, March 2nd at 13:00 EST/10:00 PST)

Vancouver Whitecaps vs Minnesota United (Saturday, March 2nd at 18:00 EST/15:00 PST)

D.C. United vs Atlanta United FC (Sunday, March 3rd at 18:00 EST/15:00 PST)

Toronto FC vs Montreal Impact (Saturday, August 24th at 19:30 EST/16:30 PST)

SJ Earthquakes vs Vancouver Whitecaps (Saturday, August 24th at 22:00 EST/19:00 PST)

Montreal Impact vs New York RB (Sunday, October 6 at 16:00 EST/13:00 PST) - Decision Day

Toronto FC vs Columbus Crew (Sunday, October 6 at 16:00 EST/13:00 PST) - Decision Day

Vancouver Whitecaps vs Real Salt Lake (Sunday, October 6 at 16:00 EST/13:00 PST) - Decision Day

Make sure you check out our dedicated 2019 MLS season page for additional broadcast info as the season progresses.

 

 


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Portugal U20May 25
9:30am
Korea Republic U20
Panama U20May 25
12:00pm
Mali U20
France U20May 25
12:00pm
Saudi Arabia U20
Argentina U20May 25
2:30pm
South Africa U20
BarcelonaMay 25
3:00pm
Valencia
ChelseaMay 29
3:00pm
Arsenal
Tottenham HotspurJun 1
3:00pm
Liverpool
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android