Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
How to watch World Cup playoff draw

World Cup 2018 playoff draw: how to watch, what to know

October 16, 2017 By Ali M.
Eight teams will be split into two pots to decide UEFA's remaining four World Cup spots.

On Tuesday, the draw for the European World Cup playoffs will be held. Unlike in CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, AFC, and OFC; there are no inter-confederation playoffs in UEFA.

The eight best second-placed teams will be paired against each other in a draw. As is done in the Champions League, there will be pots – two, to be specific – with seeded teams going into pot 1.

Here’s all you need to know about the draw.

When and where will it be held?

It will take place in Zurich, the home of football’s world governing body. It will be held on Tuesday, October 17. The affair will begin at 5:00 PT / 8:00 ET / 12:00 UTC / 13:00 BST / 14:00 CET.

How can I follow the draw?

Fans in the US can tune into WatchESPN and ESPN3 USA. The draw will also be live streamed on FIFA.com and the organization’s YouTube channel.

Who made it to the playoffs?

Eight teams have reached this stage of UEFA’s World Cup qualifiers. They are Sweden, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, Denmark, Italy, Greece and Croatia.

How will the playoffs be decided?

The top-four ranked teams will be seeded and will thus be put in pot 1.  The remaining will go into pot 2. Two teams from different pots will be paired against each other.

Who are seeded and who are not?

FIFA’s recent world ranking has decided who the seeded teams are. They are Switzerland, Italy, Croatia, and Denmark. This means Northern Ireland, Sweden, Republic of Ireland, and Greece will be in pot B.

When will the playoffs be played?

One ball from pot 1 and pot 2 will be chosen for the playoff matchups. They will then be placed in a third pot, mixed, and chosen again. The first team to be chosen will play at home in the first leg.

The two legs will then be played in November – the first will be between 9; and 11 and the second will be between 12 and 14.

Match details, result and original broadcast info

FIFA World Cup European Playoffs Draw

October 17, 2017 8:00am

This match has ended. Below are the original Live broadcast details for this match.

Live TV coverage and streaming in United States

ESPN3 USA
WatchESPN

Follow the game on-the-go

Download our iOS and Android apps to follow on-the-go. It comes packed with features - live scores, fixtures, results, tables, line-ups, stats, TV schedule and much more! Sorry, no live streaming within the app.

Live Soccer TV App for iOS Live Soccer TV App for Android

 

 


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

PanamaOct 17
5:00pm
Jamaica
CanadaOct 17
8:00pm
USA
Real MadridOct 20
7:00am
Levante
ChelseaOct 20
7:30am
Manchester United
WolfsburgOct 20
9:30am
Bayern München
Huddersfield TownOct 20
12:30pm
Liverpool
BarcelonaOct 20
2:45pm
Sevilla
ArsenalOct 22
3:00pm
Leicester City
AEK AthensOct 23
12:55pm
Bayern München
Real MadridOct 23
3:00pm
Viktoria Plze
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android