Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Mexico/Russia & New Zealand/Portugal viewing info

Mexico vs Russia, New Zealand vs Portugal live listings - Confed Cup

June 23, 2017 By Michelle Bonsu
Top spot in their quartet - and a berth in the semi-finals is at stake as Mexico take on Russia and Portugal battle an already relegated New Zealand on Saturday, June 24th. LiveSoccerTV.com provides info to catch Mexico-Russia and New Zealand-Portugal.

Broadcast info - Mexico vs. Russia

Who's playing: Although they sit on top of Group A, Mexico will come into this game knowing that they can't take Russia lightly - as a win for Portugal over an already-defeated New Zealand coupled with a negative result for El Tri could see their tournament come to a shocking and abrupt end.

What time: Saturday, June 24th at 08:00 PST/10:00 CST/11:00 EST/15:00 GMT/17:00 CET

What stadium: This game will be played at the Kazan Arena. Located in Sochi, it can seat up to 45.379 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:

- In the USA: FOX Network, fuboTV, SiriusXM FC, Fox Sports GO, FOX Soccer Match Pass, Telemundo, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

- In Mexico: TDN, SKY Planeta Fútbol, Canal de las Estrellas, Azteca 13, Sky HD, UnivisionTDN

- In Russia: Channel One Russia, Belarus 5, Match TV Game

- In Canada: RDS GO, RDS, TSN GO, TSN4

*View up-to-date broadcast listings

Match Facts & Stats

  • Mexico are making their seventh Confederations Cup appearance
  • They last won this tournament in 1999
  • Russia have never featured at a Confederations Cup and are only in the competition due to serving as hosts
  • El Tri are ranked 17th, whilst the Russians are placed in 63rd
  • Mexico have met Russia on 12 prior occasions - and it will surprise many that they don't have the strongest record
  • In fact, Mexico have only beaten Russia once (L4, D7)
  • They have also scored three and conceded 12 during that time

Rankings

Here's how things look for Mexico and Russia ahead of Saturday's game

Mexico aiming to make Confederations Cup experience count against debutant hosts

Mexico

Mexico come into this game having secured a 2-1 win over New Zealand. It was far from easy, as El Tri had to come from behind as the All-Whites snatched a shock lead, but eventually were able to overturn the deficit to ensure they remain in pole position to earn a spot in the semi-finals.

Having drawn their opener with Portugal in an interesting clash that saw four goals, and having received a lot of flack for his rotation against New Zealand, Juan Carlos Osorio will definitely resume with his strongest starting XI. That will definitely see Bayer Leverkusen's Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez make a return to the fold, but the team will likely have to do without Carlos Salcedo due to an injury in the win over New Zealand.

Given their disappointing record against Russia - a fact that may surprise many - it goes without saying that El Tri won't be taking this clash lightly. So far, they have only beaten their upcoming opponents once, and with Russia desperate for a semi-finals spot on home turf, Mexico will definitely have to step up their game in order to get the result they need.

Russia

As for Russia, despite losing to Portugal courtesy of a Cristiano Ronaldo header, the hosts are still very much still in the hunt for a semi-finals spot. They, as expected, beat New Zealand (who is the lowest-ranked side at this tournament) and will be hoping to use their home advantage to the max as they aim to preserve their strong record against familiar foes Mexico. 


Broadcast info - New Zealand vs. Portugal

Who's playing: Tied on points with Mexico, Portugal sit in second spot and will be facing an already-eliminated New Zealand. Given that runners-up face the top ranked team in Group B, Portugal will be aiming to pick up maximum points as they next look ahead to taking on either Chile or Germany in the next round.

What time: Saturday, June 24th at 08:00 PST/11:00 EST/15:00 GMT/16:00 BST/3:00 NZST (Sunday)

What stadium: This game will be played at the Saint Petersburg Stadium. It's also known as the Krestovsky Stadium (or Zenit Arena) but will be known as the Saint Petersburg Stadium during the 2017 Confederations Cup. This arena is located in St. Petersburg and seats up to 68.134 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:

- In the USA: Fox Sports 1 USA, FOX Soccer Match Pass, SiriusXM FC, Fox Sports GO, fuboTV, NBC UNIVERSO NOW, NBC UNIVERSO, Telemundo Deportes En Vivo

- In Portugal: RTP 1

- In New Zealand: SKY Go NZ, Sky Sport 4 NZ

- In the UK: ITV 4 UK

- In Canada: TSN1, RDS 2, TSN GO, RDS GO

*View up-to-date broadcast listings

Rankings

Here's how things look for Portugal ahead of Saturday's game

Match Facts & Stats

  • New Zealand are making their fourth Confederations Cup appearance - and first since 2009
  • Portugal are featuring in the tournament for the first time thanks to their historic EURO 2016 win
  • The All Whites have never won a Confederations Cup game (D1, L10)
  • Portugal secured their first ever Confed. Cup win when they beat Russia 1-0
  • Portugal are ranked 8th, vs. New Zealand's 95th
  • This will be the first meeting between Portugal and New Zealand

Portugal and CR7 aiming to book spot in semi-finals

New Zealand

For the All-Whites, their tournament has already ended in disappointment. Although they're the OFC champions, New Zealand were viewed as the weakest team in this competition and are set to head back home empty-handed. To date, they have never won a Confederations Cup game, and whilst they took a lead against Mexico - thus ending over 500 minutes of action sans a goal - they are expected to struggle against Portugal on Saturday.

Portugal

As for Portugal, their debut Confederations Cup tournament has gone solidly enough. They opened things with a 2-2 draw against Mexico, and earned a deserved win over Russia thanks to Cristiano Ronaldo's header. Still, despite that, Russia continue to nip at their heels, and Fernando Santos's side will be keen to exploit their advantage over New Zealand to try to nick top spot in their quartet. Portugal will next take on Germany or Chile in the next round - neither of whom will be easy, but at the very least, the EURO 2016 champs will want to head into the semi finals having navigated the group stages without a loss.

 

 


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

ChelseaMay 29
3:00pm
Arsenal
Tottenham HotspurJun 1
3:00pm
Liverpool
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android