Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Where to watch Switzerland vs Portugal

Live TV broadcast listings: Switzerland vs Portugal - Sep 6, 2016 World Cup qualifier

September 4, 2016 By Andrew Amoth Wandola
Here is where and when to watch the Switzerland vs Portugal 2018 World Cup qualifier match live on TV or online.

Broadcast info

Euro 2016 champions Switzerland face Portugal in their World Cup qualifier. The two teams participated in the European Championship in France two months ago, but it is Portugal who emerged the winner after dismissing hosts France in the final. 

What time: On Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at 11:45am PT, 14:45 ET, 18:45 UTC, 20:45 CET, 19:45 WET,

Which stadium: This World Cup qualifier match will be played at the St. Jakob Park in Basel, Switzerland. The 33,433-seater stadium is also the home to Swiss club FC Basel.

Which channels: 

In the USA on Fox Sports 1 USA, Fox Sports GO, Fox Deportes, Fox Soccer 2GO USA

In Canada on Sportsnet One, Sportsnet World Now

In the UK on SKY GO Extra, Sky Go UK, Sky Sports 1/HD UK, NOW TV UK

In Switzerland on SRF zwei, SFV Play, RTS Sport, RTS Deux

In Portugal on RTP Play, RTP 1

*View up-to-date global listings

Match facts

Head to head

  • These two sides have played each other 10 times since 1938
  • Out of the 10 meetings, Switzerland have won thrice, drawn four times and lost thrice
  • The Swiss have scored 11 goals against Portugal since their first meeting in 1938
  • Portugal have scored 10 goals against Switzerland since their first meeting in 1938
  • The two sides last meet back in 2008 for their European Championship qualifiers where Switzerland won 2-0 at home
  • Prior to that, the hosts had not beaten Portugal in their last seven attempts

Team news

Portugal

Cristiano Ronaldo is set to miss this fixture after suffering a knee injury in the finals of the European Championship in France. But his teammate Luis Nani has insisted that Seleccao can still fight for a win in Basel without their star man. Midfielder Andre Gomes is also set to miss this clash due to a leg injury. 

Switzerland

Tim Klose has been recalled for this tie after missing the Euro 2016 due to a knee injury. The Norwich City defender also missed the final five matches of the Canaries’ Premier League campaign before they were relegated. 

Analysis and prediction 

Portugal come into this fixture without two of their key players – Andre Gomes and captain Cristiano Ronaldo. Given the hostile environment away from home, Fernando Santos’ men could struggle to get a win here. Although they still boast of the likes of Renato Sanchez in their squad, their Tuesday opponents could take advantage of their home ground to squeeze a slim win in this fixture.

Follow the game on-the-go

Download our iOS and Android apps to follow on-the-go. It comes packed with features - live scores, fixtures, results, tables, line-ups, stats, TV schedule and much more! Sorry, no live streaming within the app.

Live Soccer TV App for iOS Live Soccer TV App for Android

Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

BarcelonaOct 17
3:00pm
Valencia
ArsenalOct 18
3:00pm
Crystal Palace
Shakhtar DonetskOct 19
3:00pm
Real Madrid
Atlético MadridOct 19
3:00pm
Liverpool
BarcelonaOct 20
12:45pm
Dynamo Kyiv
ZenitOct 20
3:00pm
Juventus
ChelseaOct 20
3:00pm
Malmö FF
Manchester UnitedOct 20
3:00pm
Atalanta
BenficaOct 20
3:00pm
Bayern München
ArsenalOct 22
3:00pm
Aston Villa
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android