Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Taça da Liga

Portugal - Taça da Liga

Fixtures / Results / TV Schedules / Live Stream Listings

No data found.




About Taça da Liga

The Portuguese Taça da Liga (or Portuguese League Cup) is the third most relevant competition run by the Liga Portuguesa de Futebol Profesional, behind the Primeira Liga and the Taça de Portugal. It involves teams from the two top tiers of Portuguese football, the Primeira Liga and the Liga Pro, and it has been played since the 2007-08 season. Unlike similar competitions in France or England, this competition does not give the winner a spot in European competitions.

Vitória de Setúbal won the inaugural title, beating Sporting CP on penalties in the final after playing out a goalless draw in normal time. The second edition was won by Portuguese giants Benfica, sparking a run of four consecutive Taca da Liga wins for the Eagles. This made them the first side to win back-to-back titles in this competition.

The tournament is played in five stages. The first one includes teams from the Liga Pro (reserve teams from Primeira Liga sides are excluded). The winners enter the second round, where they face the lower-ranked teams from the Portuguese top-flight from the previous season. The third round has all 16 teams involved playing in four groups of four teams, with the top four Primeira Liga sides entering at this stage.

A draw is held for the third round in order to determine the groups, with the top-four Primeira Liga sides being split across those four groups. Only the team that finishes in first progresses to the following round, which is the semi-final. The clubs that triumph in the last four get to play for the championship in the final at a neutral venue.

Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

AFC BournemouthAug 20
Celta de VigoAug 20
Real Madrid
Leeds UnitedAug 21
BochumAug 21
Bayern München
Real SociedadAug 21
Manchester UnitedAug 22
SouthamptonAug 27
Manchester United
ChelseaAug 27
Leicester City
LiverpoolAug 27
AFC Bournemouth
Bayern MünchenAug 27
Borussia M'gladbach
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android