Copa Costa Rica

Copa Costa Rica

About Copa Costa Rica

Copa Costa Rica History, Format, Organization, Media Coverage

The Primera División de Costa Rica is the top-tier category of football in this Central American country. This tournament saw the light in 1921 and has been frequently ranked among the top domestic leagues in CONCACAF, sharing that honor with Liga MX and Major League Soccer.
Each season in Costa Rica is divided into two tournaments, called Apertura (which takes place from July to December) and Clausura (played from January to May of the following year). Twelve teams battle to win the championship and to avoid relegation. Only one team will be relegated to the Segunda División after both tournaments have been played, which is obtained after adding up the points from the Apertura and Clausura tournaments.

The winner of the title is determined in a playoff stage featuring four teams. The winners of both semifinals go on to play the final tie under a two-legged format. If the winner of that final was also the team with the most points, then they are crowned as champions. If it is a different team, then both clubs go on to play a two-leg final that determines the champion of each season.

Deportivo Saprissa are the most successful team in Primera División history, having won over 35 titles since the league was launched. “El Monstruo” (“The Monster”) established a record for most consecutive titles with six between 1972 and 1977.

Coverage of the Primera División has been awarded to FUTV and Tigo Sports, who share broadcasting rights for a limited number of teams. In the United States, DirecTV acquired rights to air the competition until 2025, while streaming rights were awarded to ViX until 2025.

Newsletter Signup »

Why Signup?
This form is protected by reCAPTCHA.
The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android