Manchester United kicked off Matchweek 4 in the Premier League, traveling to Southampton for Saturday's early fixture as the English giants went in search of their second consecutive victory this season.
After beating Liverpool 2-1 at Old Trafford last Monday, the Red Devils looked to put the Saints to the sword and pick up their sixth point of the campaign, and that's just what they did, albeit in shaky fashion.
Ten Hag's side marched to a 1-0 victory at St. Mary's Stadium, with Bruno Fernandes scoring the only goal of the game. The Portuguese caught a lovely cross from countryman Diego Dalot first time, sneaking his shot past the opposition goalkeeper.
The Saints had their fair share of opportunities after going a goal down but ultimately came away empty-handed, as David de Gea picked up his first clean sheet of the campaign. However, many argue that there was an element of injustice behind Manchester United's win.
This grievance stems from a second-half issue in which Scott McTominay appeared to handle the ball inside his own box. In fact, replays of the incident showed the ball strike his arm more than once, leading to a passionate spot kick plea from Southampton. Unfortunately, the referee did not spot the incident and VAR, after reviewing what occurred, decided against calling the match official to the screen.
Watch the incident in the video below (clip is geo-restricted)
Even Ralph Hasenhüttl brought this up during his post-match interview, stating the ball struck the Manchester United player in the arm a few times. However, while the German tactician was more diplomatic with his assessment, refusing to focus on that one controversial refereeing decision, fans on social media did not follow suit.
"It wasn't one handball, it was three handballs!"— beIN SPORTS (@beINSPORTS_EN) August 27, 2022
Ralph Hasenhüttl didn't want to focus on refereeing decisions today but was full of praise for how his strikers played against Man United.
@CarrieBrownTV #beINPL #SOUMUN pic.twitter.com/s32kzGRm6F
Were Southampton denied a clear penalty or was the video assistant referee right to let this penalty shout slide? Check out the best tweets below.
The ball hits both of McTominay's arms but VAR has said no pen!— Footy Accumulators (@FootyAccums) August 27, 2022
VAR: "Andy, we've checked it and the player who handles the ball twice is clearly wearing a Manchester United shirt, so it's no penalty." pic.twitter.com/HAcu8WRp5q— Paddy Power (@paddypower) August 27, 2022
McTominay has finally got bored of trying to play football and decided to try volleyball instead pic.twitter.com/0VcWVooTc0— ODDSbible (@ODDSbible) August 27, 2022
McTominay is must be a hypnotist or something because I really don't know how he keeps getting away with this stuff— James. (@afcjxmes) August 27, 2022
No penalty given against McTominay for handball...— SPORTbible (@sportbible) August 27, 2022
McTominay in the penalty box pic.twitter.com/NHyz1n5Vsk— Sean™ (was GargantuanFC) (@ArtOfMikel) August 27, 2022
Does McTominay have to catch it for it to be handball?— Billy Dunmore (@Dunmoreorless) August 27, 2022
McTominay handled that 3 times inside the box and still no handball given. What even is the point of VAR anymore?— . (@ForeverBlue_07) August 27, 2022
Mctominay so good, his hands are legal in footballpic.twitter.com/4hR9Or8nLa— Boss McSauce (@WcSauce2) August 27, 2022