Copa MX

Copa MX

About Copa MX

Copa MX History, Format, Organization, Media Coverage

The Copa México, or Copa MX, is a cup competition featuring teams from the two top association football leagues in Mexico: Liga MX and the Liga de Expansión MX. The competition was first held in 1932 during the so-called amateur era of Mexican football, and it carried on until 1976, when it was put on hold. The tournament resurfaced in 1987 and was supported by the Mexican Football Federation, but it was once again abolished in 1997.

To boost competition between top-tier and lower-tier clubs from Mexico, Liga MX brought the tournament back to life in 2012, with two tournaments being held between July and May. The first format required teams to go through a group stage and then into a KO stage, where teams would play two-leg ties to make the next round. This format was dismissed in 2016, when the group stage was shortened. Once sixteen teams made it to the KO stage, matches were reduced to one-leg affairs, including the final. The winners of both tournaments would go on to play in the SupercopaMX.

In 2019, Liga MX changed the format one more time to reduce match congestion for all teams. The last update to this tournament saw one of the competitions being eliminated, meaning that Copa MX would go on for the entire season. The group stage would be held between July and December, and KO stage games would be held between January and May. Nevertheless, when the COVID-19 pandemic came, Liga MX was forced to postpone this competition until further notice.

Recent broadcast rights for Copa MX in the US and Mexico (2022 & 2023) are available across various broadasters including: Fox Sports in the USA and Claro, ESPN, Fox Sports, Grupo Imagen, Televisa, TV Azteca and TVC Deportes in Mexico.

Newsletter Signup »

Why Signup?
This form is protected by reCAPTCHA.
The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android