Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android

Premier League promotion at stake in Englands's Championship

May 7 2010 By Angela Asante
Live Coverage of England Championship on Setanta Sports

TORONTO (May 6, 2010) – Blackpool host Nottingham Forest in the opening leg of the two clubs’ Coca Cola Championship semi final playoff Saturday, May 8 at 7:45 a.m. ET/ 4:45 a.m. PT live on Setanta Sports.

The opening leg of the other Championship playoff semi final between host Leicester City and Cardiff City can also be seen live on Setanta Sunday, May 9 at 8:15 a.m. ET/ 5:15 a.m. PT.

The second leg of both semi finals are also live on Setanta:

Nottingham Forest v Blackpool           Tuesday, May 11 @ 2:45 p.m. ET
Cardiff City v Leicester City                   Wednesday, May 12 @ 2:45 p.m. ET
 

 

The winners of each semi final will meet to determine which club is promoted to England’s top league, the Barclays Premier League, for next season. Two of the three clubs relegated from the Premiership after last season – Newcastle United and West Brom – have already been promoted based on finishing first and second respectively this season in the Championship.

Few observers outside the Blackpool organization and fans would have picked the tiny club to be in a position to be promoted when play started this season. The Seasiders have defied the odds, going 6-2-1 in their last nine matches to squeak into the playoff as the sixth place club. The run allowed Blackpool to jump past Swansea City into the playoff mix. The Swans stumbled down the stretch. Starting with a 5-1 road loss to Blackpool in late March the club posted a 2-2-4 record in their last ten matches.

Leicester City may also be a surprise to some having just been promoted from League One to the Championship this season. The Foxes finished first in League One and are trying to win promotion for the second consecutive season.



Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why signup?