Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
The Best: FIFA reveal names of final nominees

The Best FIFA Awards: Cristiano Ronaldo misses out in second successive year as FIFA reveals list of final nominees

February 10, 2023 By Emmanuel K. Budu-Annor
The Portuguese superstar will not be making a podium appearance for the second year running.

For the second year running, there will be no podium finish for Cristiano Ronaldo following FIFA's revelation of the final nominees for the upcoming Best FIFA Awards. Nemesis Lionel Messi, however, is among the top three players listed in the men's category, and is set to share the stage with French duo Kylian Mbappe and Karim Benzema.

Having won the maiden Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year award in 2016 and the one that immediately followed, Cristiano Ronaldo has struggled to get to the top to reclaim the throne once more. With five Ballon d'Ors to his name as well, the career of the 38-year-old has taken a detour and the usual expectations on the player have equally dwindled. This development is as a result of his move to Al Nassr following the conclusion of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

Last week, FIFA confirmed that voting had been closed for the individuals shortlisted for the eight award categories including the Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year. On Friday, the names of the top three in each category was revealed by the world football governing body but, as widely anticipated, it did not feature Cristiano Ronaldo. Instead, for the fourth year in a row, Lionel Messi will get to compete for the gong.

The Argentine was instrumental in his nation's triumphant quest at the World Cup in Qatar and has been tipped to give Karim Benzema a tough contest despite the Frenchman also having an excellent year. Kylian Mbappe joins the pair on the podium for his contributions to Paris Saint-Germain as well as the French national team in their run-in to the final of the mundial.

Below is the full list of the nominees and finalists. The winners of all the categories will be announced at the awards gala slated for February 27, 2023.

The Best FIFA Men's Player 2022

  • Karim Benzema

  • Kylian Mbappe

  • Lionel Messi

The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper 2022

  • Yassine Bounou

  • Thibaut Courtois

  • Emiliano Martinez

The Best FIFA Men's Coach 2022

  • Carlo Ancelotti

  • Pep Guardiola

  • Lionel Scaloni

The Best FIFA Women's Player 2022

  •  Beth Mead

  • Alexia Putellas

  • Alex Morgan

The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper 2022

  • Ann-Katrin Berger

  • Mary Earps

  • Christiane Endler

The Best FIFA Women's Coach 2022

  • Martina Voss-Tecklenburg

  • Emma Hayes

  • Bev Priestman

FIFA Puskas Award 2022 (Goal of the Year)

  • Marcin Oleksy

  • Dimitri Payet

  • Richarlison

FIFA Fan Award 2022

  • Abdullah Al Salmi - Soccer fan from Saudi Arabia who hiked 1,600 km across the Arabian desert from Jeddah to Qatar to support his team at the World Cup.

  • Japan fans - Nominated for their commitment to tidying up at stadiums after their matches at the World Cup.

  • Argentina fans - Nominated for their support throughout the FIFA World Cup and for the welcome they provided in Buenos Aires when their team returned home as champions.

Newsletter Signup »

Why Signup?
This form is protected by reCAPTCHA.
The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Upcoming Top Matches »

TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android