The 66th edition of France Football's prestigious event will take place on Monday as fans eagerly wait to find out the winners of the men's and women's Ballon d'Or awards.

That time of year has finally arrived! Monday, October 17 will see the winner of the 2022 Ballon d'Or announced as the footballing world prepares for the upcoming gala in Paris, France.

The event, which will be the 66th edition of France Football's prestigious award, will crown one man out of 30 candidates as the best player in the world. While Real Madrid superstar Karim Benzema is the favorite for this award, it will be interesting to see whether the Frenchman becomes the third Blancos player to win this accolade in the last five years.

Unlike previous years, the 2022 prize will not be judged on performances in this calendar year, hence why Lionel Messi missed out on the 30-man shortlist. Instead, the criteria for this edition will be the achievements during the season (2021/22). Here's everything you need to know about the latest Ballon d'Or event.

When and where will the 2022 Ballon d'Or gala be held?

The event kicks off at 2:30 p.m. ET/18:30 GMT and will be held at the Theatre du Chatelet in the French capital.

What are the awards being handed out this year?

A total of seven awards will be handed out, the standout ones being the 2022 Men's Ballon d'Or, the Women's Ballon d'Or, and the Kopa Trophy (for the best-performing under-21 player). However, those aren't the only prizes up for grabs. 

Elsewhere, we have the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper of the season as well as the newly-created Muller Award, named after the iconic German striker Gerd Muller, which will honor the best striker of 2021/22.

Additionally, there are the Socrates Award (for the best social initiative) and the Club of the Year prize up for grabs.

Who are the nominees for the major awards?

2022 Men's Ballon d'Or finalists

  1. Trent Alexander-Arnold - Liverpool/England

  2. Karim Benzema - Real Madrid/France

  3. Joao Cancelo - Manchester City/Portugal

  4. Casemiro - Real Madrid (now at Manchester United)/Brazil

  5. Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid/Belgium

  6. Cristiano Ronaldo - Manchester United/Portugal

  7. Kevin de Bruyne - Manchester City/Belgium

  8. Luis Diaz - Porto/Liverpool/Colombia

  9. Fabinho - Liverpool/Brazil

  10. Phil Foden - Manchester City/England

  11. Erling Haaland - Dortmund (now at Manchester City)/Norway

  12. Sebastien Haller - Ajax (now at Dortmund)/Ivory Coast

  13. Harry Kane - Tottenham/England

  14. Joshua Kimmich - Bayern Munich/Germany

  15. Rafael Leao - AC Milan/Portugal

  16. Robert Lewandowski - Bayern Munich (now at Barcelona)/Poland

  17. Riyad Mahrez - Manchester City/Algeria

  18. Mike Maignan - AC Milan/France

  19. Sadio Mane - Liverpool (now at Bayern Munich)/Senegal

  20. Kylian Mbappe - PSG/France

  21. Luka Modric - Real Madrid/Croatia

  22. Christopher Nkunku - RB Leipzig/France

  23. Darwin Nunez - Benfica (now at Liverpool)/Uruguay

  24. Antonio Rudiger - Chelsea (now at Real Madrid)/Germany

  25. Mohamed Salah - Liverpool/Egypt

  26. Bernardo Silva - Manchester City/Portugal

  27. Son Heung-min - Tottenham/South Korea

  28. Virgil van Dijk - Liverpool/Netherlands

  29. Vinicius Jr. - Real Madrid/Brazil

  30. Dusan Vlahovic - Fiorentina/Juventus/Serbia

*Vlahovic and Diaz made the move from Fiorentina to Juventus and from Porto to Liverpool during the 2021/22 season, meaning their achievements for both clubs will be factored in.

2022 Women's Ballon d'Or finalists

  1. Selma Bacha - Lyon/France

  2. Aitana Bonmati - Barcelona/Spain

  3. Millie Bright - Chelsea/England

  4. Lucy Bronze - Manchester City (now at Barcelona)/England

  5. Kadidiatou Diani - PSG/France

  6. Christiane Endler - Lyon/Chile

  7. Ada Hegerberg - Lyon/Norway

  8. Marie-Antoinette Katoto - PSG/France

  9. Sam Kerr - Chelsea/Australia

  10. Catarina Macario - Lyon/USA

  11. Beth Mead - Arsenal/England

  12. Vivianne Miedema - Arsenal/Netherlands

  13. Alex Morgan - Orlando Pride (now at San Diego Wave)/USA

  14. Lena Oberdorf - Wolfsburg/Germany

  15. Asisat Oshoala - Barcelona/Nigeria

  16. Alexandra Popp - Wolfsburg/Germany

  17. Alexia Putellas - Barcelona/Spain

  18. Wendie Renard - Lyon/France

  19. Trinity Rodman - Washington Spirit/USA

  20. Fridolina Rolfo - Barcelona/Sweden

2022 Kopa Trophy finalists

  1. Karim Adeyemi - RB Salzburg (now at Dortmund)/Germany

  2. Jude Bellingham - Dortmund/England

  3. Eduardo Camavinga - Real Madrid/Frane

  4. Gavi - Barcelona/Spain

  5. Ryan Gravernberch - Ajax (now at Bayern Munich)/Netherlands

  6. Josko Gvardiol - RB Leipzig/Croatia

  7. Nuno Mendes - PSG/Portugal

  8. Jamal Musiala - Bayern Munich/Germany

  9. Bukayo Saka - Arsenal/England

  10. Florian Wirtz - Bayer Leverkusen/Germany

2022 Yashin Trophy finalists

  1. Alisson Becker - Liverpool/Brazil

  2. Yassine Bounou - Sevilla/Morocco

  3. Thibaut Courtois - Real Madrid/Belgium

  4. Ederson - Manchester City/Brazil

  5. Hugo Lloris - Tottenham/France

  6. Mike Maignan - AC Milan/France

  7. Edouard Mendy - Chelsea/Senegal

  8. Manuel Neuer - Bayern Munich/Germany

  9. Jan Oblak - Atletico Madrid/Slovenia

  10. Kevin Trapp - Eintracht Frankfurt/Germany

Who are the favorites to win the major 2022 awards?

While 30 finalists have been named for the 2022 Men's Ballon d'Or, this year's prize is destined to go to Karim Benzema. The Frenchman, who scored the opening goal in Real Madrid's 3-1 El Clasico victory over Barcelona on Sunday, led his club to the UEFA Champions League and La Liga titles last season after a tremendous campaign in front of goal, netting 44 goals across all competitions in 2021/22.

The Women's Ballon d'Or is where things get a bit tricky. While Alexia Putellas, last year's winner, looks to be the favorite, Ada Hegerberg, who led Lyon to the UEFA Women's Champions League crown last season, and Beth Mead, who was England's standout player during their UEFA Women's Euro success over the summer, are also in the running.

Thibaut Courtois is touted to win the Yashin Trophy while Robert Lewandowski and Gavi could come away with the Muller Award and Kepa Trophy.

Where to watch the 2022 Ballon d'Or live on TV/streaming/on-demand


Match details, result and original broadcast info

Ballon d'Or 2022

October 17, 2022 2:30pm

This match has ended. Below are the original Live broadcast details for this match.

Live TV coverage and streaming in United States