Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android

Players In Mexico's Primera Division Kick About With Twitter

April 26, 2011 By Angela Asante
Joining their counterparts in other leagues, footballers in Mexico tweet to the world and embrace social media

Twitter and football are making a great partnership in Mexico's Primera Division these days.By: C.I. Sanchez

It is quite easy to stay in touch with footballers because these days many of them announce their daily plans, thoughts, sentiments, jokes, and whatever it is that is on their minds to the world. Twitter, a social media tool that is akin to sending a text to not one or two friends but to thousands, has provided this open platform. 

The 140-character limit “tweets” have intensified the relationships between players and fans by creating real-time conversations. This powerful movement is changing the intensity of the game because now players have a voice—along with the fans, the clubs, and the football pundits.

 

Moreover, this movement is not just centered on players in the top European clubs; many Mexican footballers have opened Twitter accounts and actively use the service. Of course, giving players their own “megaphone” has its advantages and disadvantages.

One can look to someone like Cristiano Ronaldo to see the power of social media. Ronaldo has amassed over 2.5 million followers on Twitter! He can manage and dictate whatever message he wants to get out to his fans. Yet there have been unfortunate disadvantages.

During England’s international friendly with Ghana, West Ham’s Carlton Cole tweeted an offensive comment about the visiting team; the English FA fined him for his lack of judgement. Thankfully, the Primera Division players on Twitter have used the social media service in constructive ways and have thus far avoided any controversy.

For the development and expansion of the league, it will be wonderful to see Mexico's Primera Division gain more fans and publicity via Twitter. Players have the opportunity to develop their voice, their brand. Fans have the opportunity to get to know the players, to ask questions, to reply to questions. It is a phenomenon that is quickly becoming popular amongst all involved in football.

Want to know what is Fernando Arce’s dream concert? Care to see some photos of Guillermo Ochoa’s charity works for Club America? Dying to ask Cruz Azul’s Javier Aquino a question? Well then head on over to Twitter and find out. (By the way, the Santos Laguna midfielder has a dream Shakira concert in mind but do not tell Gerard Pique!)

Listed below is a notable yet partial list of Primera Division players with Twitter accounts. Although many are not verified, they all appear to be official accounts (i.e. not fan accounts). There is no need to follow all of them but definitely take time to find some favorite players and join the conversation!

Pumas UNAM

Martin Bravo @Tinbravo10
Erick Vera @erik_vera59
Jehu Chiapas @Jehuu
Fernando Morales @Zurdo_Morales

UANL Tigres

Enrique Palos @enrikepalos
Cirilo Saucedo @cirilo_saucedo
Carlos Ochoa Mendoza @carlosochoam

Morelia

Joao Rojas Mendoza @joaorrm11
Aldo Leao Ramirez @Aldoleao81

Guadalajara

Victor Hugo Hernandez @Chivashugohdez
Omar Arellano @lepina279
Marco Fabian @markofabian8
Luis Ernesto Michel @luisemichel

Cruz Azul

Javier Aquino @JavierAquino7
Martin Galvan @MartinGalvan29

Atlante

Diego Ordaz Alvarez @d_ordaz19
Fernando Navarro @FerNavarro07

Monterrey

Aldo De Nigris @9ADN9
Jonathan Orozco @jona_orozco
Jesus Arellano @Kbrito28
Juan de Dios Ibarra @jdibarrac
Humberto Suazo @humbertosuazop

Atlas

Lucas Emanuel Ayala @LucasAyala08
Alfredo Moreno @chango_moreno

Club America

Angel Eduardo Reyna @angelreyna18
Carlos Reinoso @carlosreinoso8
Guillermo Ochoa @yosoy8a

Toluca

Emmanuel Cerda @emmanuelcerda22
Miguel Centeno @macho121212

Santos Laguna

Fernando Arce @fernandoarce5
Oswaldo Sanchez @laaranaazteca

San Luis Potosi

No players on Twitter yet!

Puebla

Edgar Castillo @gringocastillo8
Jorge Zarate @jzarate28
Alex Alvarez @mostroland
Gabriel Pereyra @misticopereyra

Estudiantes Tecos

Ramon Morales @RamonMorales11

Pachuca

Fernando Cortes @nanditocortes88
Herculez Gomez @herculezg

Queretaro

No players on Twitter yet!

Necaxa

Luis Alberto Padilla @betopadilla04
Pierre Ibarra @pierreibarra

Chiapas

Edgar Andrade @edgar_andrade19
Jesus Chavez @chaveta_3
Oscar Razo @oscarrazo7
Marvin Cabrera @mcabrera14

 

 


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Eintracht FrankfurtSep 19
12:55pm
Arsenal
Manchester UnitedSep 19
3:00pm
Astana
Bayern MünchenSep 21
9:30am
Köln
GranadaSep 21
3:00pm
Barcelona
West Ham UnitedSep 22
9:00am
Manchester United
ArsenalSep 22
11:30am
Aston Villa
ChelseaSep 22
11:30am
Liverpool
SevillaSep 22
3:00pm
Real Madrid
BarcelonaSep 24
3:00pm
Villarreal
Real MadridSep 25
3:00pm
Osasuna
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android