Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
IFFHS Awards: Messi, CR7, Rapinoe, Morgan in TOTY

IFFHS Awards: Messi and Ronaldo lead World Men's Team of the Year, Morgan and Rapinoe headline women's team

November 30, 2019 By Emmanuel K. Budu-Annor
The IFFHS two stars have made the list for the third year running while the USWNT pair have been recognized for their exploits in France.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Juventus' Cristiano Ronaldo have been named in the International Federation of Football History & Statistics' Team of the Year for the third time running. Relatively, United States women's national pair Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe have been featured in this year's World Women's Team of the year with the former making her third successive appearance.

For Messi and Ronaldo, their appearing in the lineup has been more or less a formality since the inception of the awards. The pair's consistency at the top level was evident in the calendar year with the former winning La Liga with Barcelona and finishing the third in the 2019 Copa America with Argentina. Relatively, Ronaldo secured the Scudetto with Juventus and won the UEFA Nations League with Portugal.

View this post on Instagram

The #IFFHSawards Men's #Football team of the year!! [Image via #IFFHS]

A post shared by Live Soccer TV (@livesoccertv) on

In the votes cast by members of IFFHS who come from 90 countries all around the world, Lionel Messi, alongside Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk, received 76% of the votes - the most received by any player in the lineup. The Dutch defender also had three other teammates - Alisson Becker, Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane - representing for the first time.

Real Madrid's Sergio Ramos was featured for the third year running after securing 33% of the votes cast while his former teammate Cristiano Ronaldo gained 60% of the votes cast. Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp was named as the manager for the side.

Below is how the players fared in the voting:

Goalkeeper :

  • Alisson Ramses Becker, (Brazil/Liverpool): 66%.


  • Trent Alexander-Arnold, (England/Liverpool): 35%

  • Virgil Van Dijk, (Netherlands/Liverpool): 76%

  • Matthijs De Ligt, (Netherlands/Ajax Amsterdam/Juventus): 50%

  • Sergio Ramos, (Spain/Real Madrid): 33%


  • Frenkie De Jong, (Netherlands/Ajax Amsterdam/Barcelona): 45%

  • Bernardo Silva, (Portugal/Manchester City): 25%

  • Kevin De Bruyne, (Belgium/Manchester City): 40%.


  • Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona): 76%

  • Cristiano Ronaldo  (Portugal/Juventus): 60%

  • Sadio Mane  (Senegal/Liverpool): 39%.

Coach - Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool): 85%


Goalkeeper :

Marc André Ter Stegen, (Germany/Fc Barcelona): 5%


  • Andrew Robertson, (Scotland/Liverpool): 16%

  • Kalidou Koulibaly, (Senegal/Napoli): 11%

  • Jordi Alba, (Spain/Barcelona): 15%

  • Marcello, (Brazil/Real Madrid): 11%.


  • Georginio Wijnaldum, (Netherlands/Liverpool): 15%

  • Roberto Firmino, (Brazil/Liverpool): 16%

  • Eden Hazard, (Belgium/Chelsea/Real Madrid): 23%.


  • Mohamed Salah, (Egypt/Fc Liverpool): 23%

  • Robert Lewandowski, (Poland/Bayern München): 18%

  • Kylian Mbappe, (France/Paris SG): 16%.

In the Women's Team of the Year, Alex Morgan, Lucy Bronze, Wendie Renard, and Dzsenifer Marozsan all made the lineup for the third year running. Morgan, who won the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup with the USWNT, was joined by her national teammate and best player of the tournament Megan Rapinoe for the first time ever.

It has been a remarkable year for the Reign FC star who finished last summer's finals in France as the top goalscorer of the tournament. Her exploits were subsequently recognised by FIFA as she was confered the honor of the Best Women's Player of the Year 2019 in September. 

View this post on Instagram

The #IFFHSAwards' #WomensFootball team of the year!! [Image via #IFFHS]

A post shared by Live Soccer TV (@livesoccertv) on

In the IFFHS' honor for the Women's Team of the Year, Rapinoe received the most votes (82% of all votes) while England and Olympique Lyonnais' Lucy Bronze came in with the second-highest number of votes of 76%. All in all, the lineup consisted of five USA players and five players of the Olympique Lyonnais's women's team.

Below is how the players fared in the voting:

Goalkeeper :

  • Sari Van Veenendaal  (Netherlands/Fc Arsenal/Atlético De Madrid)   54%

Defenders :

  • Lucy Bronze  (England/Olympique Lyonnais): 76%

  • Wendie Renard  (France/Olympique Lyonnais): 56%

  • Julie Ertz (USA/Red Stars Chicago): 34%

  • Crystal Dunn (USA/NC Courage): 26%

Midfielders :

  • Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais): 40%

  • Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington Spirit): 48%

  • Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais): 46%

Attackers :

  • Megan Rapinoe  (USA/Seattle Reign FC): 82%

  • Ada Hegerberg  (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais): 30%

  • Alex Morgan  (USA/Orlando Pride): 62%

Coach - Jill Ellis (USA): 55%.


Goalkeeper :

Sarah Bouhaddi  (France/Olympique Lyonnais): 12%

Defenders :

  • Kelley O'Hara  (USA/ Utah Royals FC): 22%

  • Nilla Fischer  (Sweden/Vfl Wolfsburg/Linköpings FC): 24%

  • Linda Sembrant  (Sweden/Montpellier Hsc/FC Juventus): 16%

  • Amel Majri  (France/Olympique Lyonnais): 14%.

Midfielders :

  • Sherida Spitse  ( Netherlands/ Valerenga FC): 12%

  • Kosovare Asslani (Sweden/Linköpings FC/CD Tacon)  14%

  • Pernille Harder  (Denmark/Vfl Wolfsburg)   22%.

Attackers :

  • Marta  (Brazil/Orlando Pride)   22%

  • Ellen White (England/Birmingham City FC/FC Manchester City)  22%

  • Lieke Martens  (Netherlands/FC Barcelona)  26%








Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

BarcelonaJan 30
Leicester CityFeb 1
Mainz 05Feb 1
Bayern München
LiverpoolFeb 1
Real MadridFeb 1
Atlético Madrid
Manchester UnitedFeb 1
Wolverhampton Wanderers
BurnleyFeb 2
BarcelonaFeb 2
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android