Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
UEFA reveals nominees for 2018-19 season awards

UEFA reveals nominees for 2018-19 season awards with some major snubs

August 8, 2019 By Oscar Rojas
Football's governing body in Europe revealed that Player of the Year nominees will be announced on a later date.

The 2019-20 season is just around the corner, and UEFA will hand its annual awards before the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League begin. 

Today, football's governing body in Europe revealed the three players opting to win the positional awards for the 2018-19 campaign, but fans were not that satisfied due to some major absences.

The goalkeeping award will have both UCL finalists fighting for the trophy, as Alisson Becker and Hugo Lloris were included in the nominations. Marc-André Ter Stegen is the third goalkeeper on UEFA's shortlist.

Ajax's massive season earned Matthijs De Ligt a nomination among all UCL defenders. Nevertheless, he will be facing stiff competition from Trent Alexander-Arnold and Virgil Van Dijk.

Liverpool's captain Jordan Henderson will face some tough contenders for the midfield award, as Frenkie De Jong and Christian Eriksen have what it takes to take the trophy home.

The biggest snub in the list of nominees comes in the strikers' department, as Roberto Firmino and most notably, Mohamed Salah, did not make the cut. Lionel Messi, Sadio Mane and Cristiano Ronaldo got picked instead.

The UEFA Champions League draw and awards ceremony will be held on August 29.

Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

FreiburgJun 5
Borussia M'gladbach
Bayer LeverkusenJun 6
Bayern München
Borussia DortmundJun 6
Hertha BSC
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android