Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Van Dijk voted as PFA Player of the Year

Virgil Van Dijk voted as PFA 2018-19 Player of The Year

April 24, 2019 By Oscar Rojas
The Dutch defender will take over for Mohamed Salah, last year's winner.

Although the announcement is set to take place on Thursday, the results for the PFA 2018-19 Player of the Year award have hit the light, according to the Daily Mail.

In what was reportedly a tight race, Virgil Van Dijk has emerged victorious against Raheem Sterling, the other top candidate for the award. The Dutch defender was one of six men nominated for the award. Sterling, Sadio Mané, Eden Hazard, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva were also considered for the prize, which will go to Van Dijk's trophy cabinet.

Van Dijk's win gives Liverpool back-to-back PFA POTY awards for the second time in history. Previously, Kenny Dalgish and Ian Rush won back-to-back awards as Liverpool players for the 1982-83 and 1983-84 seasons, respectively.

The Dutchman will be the eighth Liverpool player to lift the trophy, folliwng Terry McDermott (1980), Dalgish, Rush, John Barnes (1988), Steven Gerrard (2006), Luis Suárez (2014), and Mohamed Salah. Added to that, Van Dijk joins Dennis Bergkamp (1998), Ruud Van Nistelrooy (2002), and Robin Van Persie (2012) as the only Dutch players to win the award.


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Santa ClaraJun 5
Sporting Braga
FreiburgJun 5
Borussia M'gladbach
RB LeipzigJun 6
Bayer LeverkusenJun 6
Bayern München
Borussia DortmundJun 6
Hertha BSC
Werder BremenJun 7
Union BerlinJun 7
Schalke 04
AugsburgJun 7
LimónJun 7
Deportivo SaprissaJun 7
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android