Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
EPL Boxing Day preview

Boxing Day Preview: Kane is one goal shy of new EPL record

December 25, 2017 By Ali M.
Tottenham hosts Southampton in the early kick off, while seventh-placed Burnley travels to Man United.

Every football fan knows that tomorrow is Boxing Day in the Premier League. While action halts in most of Europe’s leagues for the winter break, the same can’t be said about the English top-flight, with eight games scheduled for the day following Christmas.

Not all of the top six will take to the field on Tuesday – Man City and Arsenal play on Wednesday and Thursday, respectively. Here’s a preview of Boxing Day in the Premier League.

Broadcast info – Tottenham vs Southampton

What time: On Tuesday, December 26 at 4:30 PT / 7:30 ET / 12:30 GMT / 13:30 CET

Which stadium: At the 90,000 seat Wembley Stadium

Which channel

Match facts

  • Tottenham is unbeaten in their last eight home Premier League games (W5. D3).
  • The home side has not lost on Boxing Day since a 2-0 defeat at Portsmouth in 2003, amassing to an 11-game unbeaten run (W8, D3).
  • Harry Kane is one goal shy of breaking Alan Shearer’s record of most Premier League goals in a calendar year (36).
  • Southampton has won only one of their last six trips to Spurs, losing the other five.

Broadcast info – Chelsea vs Brighton and Hove Albion

What time: On Tuesday, December 26 at 7:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

Which stadium: At the 41,663-seat Stamford Bridge

Which channel

Match facts

  • Chelsea is currently on a four-game winning streak against Brighton in league games.
  • Brighton has won only once against the Blues in history, with that sole triumph coming via a 2-1 FA Cup victory in January 1933.
  • The host has won eight of their last 11 Premier League games heading into this Boxing Day clash.

Broadcast info – Man United vs Burnley 

What time: On Tuesday, December 26 at 7:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET

Which stadium: At the 75,643-seat Old Trafford

Which channel

Match facts

  • Man United last lost at home in the league to Burnley in September 1962, winning eight and drawing five since then.
  • Only Man City (5) and Chelsea (7) have conceded fewer away goals this season than Burnley (9).
  • The Red Devils’ 83% win percentage on Boxing Day is the best in the league, having won 19 of their 23 games on December 26.
  • United hasn’t lost at home on Boxing Day since 1978 (W14, D2).

Other Boxing Day Fixtures

How will the standings look like after Boxing Day?

As for now, the table is as seen below. Arsenal and Tottenham sit outside the top four, occupying sixth and fifth respectively, Liverpool holds the last Champions League spot, with Chelsea, Man United, and Man City.

 

Pos.TeamMPWDLGFGAGDPForm
1 Manchester City 32 23 5 4 67 23 +44 74 LWWWL
2 Manchester United 31 18 9 4 61 34 +27 63 WWWWD
3 Leicester City 31 17 5 9 55 37 +18 56 LLWWD
4 West Ham United 32 16 7 9 53 42 +11 55 LWWDL
5 Chelsea 31 15 9 7 50 31 +19 54 WLDWW
6 Liverpool 31 15 7 9 53 37 +16 52 WWWLL
7 Tottenham Hotspur 32 14 8 10 54 37 +17 50 DLDWL
8 Everton 31 14 7 10 43 40 +3 49 DDDLL
9 Arsenal 31 13 6 12 43 35 +8 45 WLDWD
10 Leeds United 31 14 3 14 49 49 0 45 WWWDL
11 Aston Villa 30 13 5 12 43 33 +10 44 LWLDD
12 Wolverhampton Wanderers 31 10 8 13 31 41 -10 38 WLLDL
13 Crystal Palace 31 10 8 13 33 52 -19 38 LDWLD
14 Southampton 31 10 6 15 39 56 -17 36 LWLLW
15 Newcastle United 32 9 8 15 35 53 -18 35 WWDLD
16 Brighton & Hove Albion 31 7 12 12 33 38 -5 33 DLWWL
17 Burnley 31 8 9 14 25 42 -17 33 LLWDD
18 Fulham 32 5 11 16 24 42 -18 26 LLLLW
19 West Bromwich Albion 31 5 9 17 28 59 -31 24 WWLDL
20 Sheffield United 31 4 2 25 17 55 -38 14 LLLLW
Champions League (Group Stage)
Europa League (Group Stage)
Relegation - Championship

Guardiola’s side enjoys a 13-point lead at the top, the biggest points gap between first and second on Christmas Day in Premier League history. Man United can slash that advantage to 10 points since the Citizens will not be in action on Boxing Day, but the Red Devils must beat Burnley to do that.

The likes of Spurs and Arsenal both have a shot at the fourth spot on Tuesday, but that can only happen if fails to beat Swansea later that same day – the Gunners will also need Tottenham to slip up as Pochettino’s side is ahead on goal difference.

Similarly, the two London giants are also in danger of dropping to seventh. Sixth-placed Burnley is only two points behind Tottenham and Arsenal and would leapfrog whoever of the two loses on Boxing Day. The Clarets must win at Old Trafford for this to happen, however.


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

GetafeApr 18
3:00pm
Real Madrid
Leeds UnitedApr 19
3:00pm
Liverpool
Bayern MünchenApr 20
2:30pm
Bayer Leverkusen
ChelseaApr 20
3:00pm
Brighton & Hove Albion
Borussia DortmundApr 21
2:30pm
Union Berlin
HoffenheimApr 21
2:30pm
Borussia M'gladbach
CádizApr 21
4:00pm
Real Madrid
BarcelonaApr 22
4:00pm
Getafe
ArsenalApr 23
3:00pm
Everton
LiverpoolApr 24
7:30am
Newcastle United
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android