Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
How to follow the Ballon d'Or

Ballon d'Or 2017: How to follow Thursday's award ceremony

December 7, 2017 By Ali M.
Cristiano Ronaldo is the defending champion and is looking to equal Messi's record of five wins, but will face competition from the Argentine.

On Thursday, one of football’s most coveted individual prizes will be handed out: the Ballon d’Or. The 2017 edition will commence in a ceremony in Paris, with one lucky player set to be named the recipient.

Rumors have been bouncing around as to who will France’s Football’s ultimate prize, but an official announcement is right around the corner. Here’s everything you need to know about the 2017 Ballon d’Or.

What time is the ceremony?

The event will begin at 13:45 ET / 18:45 GMT on Thursday, December 7. 

Where can I watch the ceremony?

French sports channel L'Equipe TV is the confirmed channel to broadcast the event. To stream it online, you may also visit (geo-restrictions apply). Fans can follow our Twitter page for live updates.

How will the winner be chosen?

A group of 173 journalists from across the world will choose the winner. This means coaches, fellow players, and managers have no say in the outcome.

Who are the nominees?

The race will come down to two players, but a total of 30 men were shortlisted for the 2017 prize. 

  1. Neymar: PSG
  2. N'Golo Kante: Chelsea
  3. Luka Modric: Real Madrid
  4. Paulo Dybala: Juventus 
  5. Marcelo: Real Madrid 
  6. Edin Dzeko: Roma
  7. Harry Kane: Tottenham
  8. David De Gea: Man United
  9. Robert Lewandowski: Bayern Munich
  10. Philippe Coutinho: Liverpool
  11. Luis Suarez: Barcelona
  12. Jan Oblak: Atletico
  13. Sergio Ramos: Real Madrid
  14. Dries Mertens: Napoli 
  15. Radamel Falcao: Monaco
  16. Sadio Mane: Liverpool
  17. Gianluigi Buffon: Juventus
  18. Antoine Griezmann: Atletico 
  19. Toni Kroos: Real Madrid
  20. Cristiano Ronaldo: Real Madrid
  21. Eden Hazard: Chelsea 
  22. Leonardo Bonucci: AC Milan
  23. Isco: Real Madrid 
  24. Kylian Mbappe: PSG
  25. Kevin De Bruyne: Man City
  26. Karim Benzema: Real Madrid
  27. Pierre-Emerick Aubemyang: BVB
  28. Edinson Cavani: PSG
  29. Lionel Messi: Barcelona
  30. Mats Hummels: Bayern Munich

Who is the favorite?

Cristiano is the safest bet, as his heroics last season guided Real Madrid to the Champions League and La Liga titles. He is leading the way in Europe once gain this season, as he is the top scorer.

Messi has his claim on the prize, as last season was disappointing for Barcelona but not on a personal level. He almost single-handedly led Argentina into the 2018 World Cup and continues to bag goals like no other in La Liga.

Nonetheless, Cristiano’s trophy-laden season might prove to hard to overlook.

Match details, result and original broadcast info

Ballon d'Or 2017 Ceremony

December 7, 2017 1:00pmParis, France

This match has ended. Below are the original Live broadcast details for this match.

This match was not broadcast in United States

International Coverage:

Follow the game on-the-go

Download our iOS and Android apps to follow on-the-go. It comes packed with features - live scores, fixtures, results, tables, line-ups, stats, TV schedule and much more! Sorry, no live streaming within the app.

Live Soccer TV App for iOS Live Soccer TV App for Android



Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Real MadridOct 20
ChelseaOct 20
Manchester United
WolfsburgOct 20
Bayern München
Huddersfield TownOct 20
BarcelonaOct 20
ArsenalOct 22
Leicester City
AEK AthensOct 23
Bayern München
Real MadridOct 23
Viktoria Plze
Manchester UnitedOct 23
BarcelonaOct 24
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android