Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android
Europa League MD 5 preview

Europa League Week 5 Preview: Who will secure their spots in the next round

November 23, 2017 By Michelle Bonsu
LiveSoccerTV.com takes a look at who's already secured their spot in the round of 32 and who else can join them after today's matches.

With the Champions League now out of the way, we now turn our attention to the Europa League. So far, only five sides are definitely through to the round of 32, while three teams have no chance at qualifiying.

Who are they? Well, the teams whose European football ambitions have ended are Everton, Israeli outfit Maccabi Tel-Aviv, and Eastern European side Vardar. Meanwhile, the sides already in the knockout rounds are Arsenal, Lazio, Ukrainian outfit Dynamo Kiev, Romanian side FC Steaua București, and Zenit.

That means that there are numerous other teams still battling for a spot. Here are some of the permutations for the various groups ahead of matchday five.

GROUP A

With Maccabi already eliminated, it's a battle between Villarreal and Eastern European sides Astana and Slavia Prague for the top two places in Group A. The Yellow Submarine, of course, are in pole position not just to qualify but to secure top spot, which they can by beating Astana later today. Even a draw will be fine if Slavia fail to win. A loss for Villarreal will be fine if Slavia also lose due to their better head-to-head.

GROUP D

Despite their struggles in Serie A, AC Milan have been quite solid in the Europa League. The Rossoneri will be through if they win against Austrlia Wien today. If they draw, and Rijeka fail to win, they still will secure a spot in the round of 32.

GROUP E

Atalanta is another Serie A side who have been doing quite well in Europe's second-tier competition. La Dea simply need to avoid defeat to book their ticket to the knockout rounds, and they take on an already-eliminated Everton later today.

GROUP H

Arsenal are already through and simply need a draw to secure their spot as group winners. Meanwhile, below the Gunners, everyone else has everything else to play for as it's going to be a very interesting three-way battle for second spot. For Koln, it's win or go home. The same goes for the team above them in the rankings.

GROUP K

Simone Inzaghi's Lazio have been flying high in both Serie A and the Europa League and have already qualified for the round of 32 as group winners. Still, the Biancocelesti certainly won't be resting on their laurels, as they will want to finish their campaign unbeaten. Meanwhile, Nice will join them with a win. Interestingly, although they have just one point, Vitesse are not out just yet. In fact, if they can manage to beat Lazio, and Nice and Zulte draw, they will still keep themselves in the running - but they also will have to beat Nice on the final matchday.

Here is the broadcast info for five key matches not to miss:

Broadcast info – Astana vs Villarreal

What time: Thursday, November 23rd at 08:00 PST/11:00 EST/16:00 GMT/17:00 CET

Which stadium: This game will be played at Astana Arena, which seats up to 30.244 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:


Broadcast info – Köln vs Arsenal

What time: Thursday, November 23rd at 10:00 PST/13:00 EST/18:00 GMT/19:00 CET

Which stadium: This game will be played at RheinEnergieStadion, which seats up to 45.965 fans for international fixtures.

Which channel:


Broadcast info – Lazio vs Vitesse

What time: Thursday, November 23rd at 10:00 PST/13:00 EST/18:00 GMT/19:00 CET

Which stadium: This game will be played at the Stadio Olimpico. Shared between Roma and Lazio, this famous venue can seat up to 72.698 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:



Broadcast info – AC Milan vs Austria Wien

What time: Thursday, November 23rd at 12:05 PST/15:05 EST/20:05 GMT/21:05 CET

Which stadium: This game will be played at the Stadio San Siro. Shared between Milan and Inter, this venue seats up to 80.018 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:



Broadcast info – Everton vs Atalanta

What time: Thursday, November 23rd at 12:05 PST/15:05 EST/20:05 GMT/21:05 CET

Which stadium: This game will be played at Goodison Park, which seats up to 39.572 fans at max capacity.

Which channel:



Here are the remaining Matchday 5 matches in the Europa League

Click here for for full week five Europa League fixtures


Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

Bayern MünchenApr 10
6:00pm
Fortuna Düsseldorf
BarcelonaApr 11
6:00pm
Athletic Club
Real MadridApr 11
6:00pm
Mallorca
LiverpoolApr 12
11:30am
Aston Villa
Wolverhampton WanderersApr 13
3:00pm
Arsenal
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android