Copa Libertadores Femenina

Copa Libertadores Femenina


About Copa Libertadores Femenina

Copa Libertadores Femenina History, Format, Organization, Media Coverage

The CONMEBOL Libertadores Femenina, also referred to as Copa Libertadores Femenina, is the premier women’s club competition in South America. This tournament involves top women’s sides from CONMEBOL-affiliated countries and is the offspring of the men’s Copa Libertadores competition.

The Copa Libertadores Fememina, which is held annually, kicked off in 2009. This was due to the rising interest in women’s soccer on the continent. The inaugural season saw only 10 teams participate -- the contestants were split into two groups of five with the top two teams from each group moving on to the semi-finals. Santos won the first-ever title.

By the third edition, the number of participants was increased to twelve – this time, they were split into three groups of four with the first-placed teams and the best runner-up progressing to the semi-finals. The number remained like this for eight seasons before being increased once again, this time to 16, in the 2019 campaign.

The first six seasons were only held in Brazil until Colombia hosted the 2015 season. Similarly, the first three titles were won by Santos and Sao Jose until Chile’s Colo-Colo became the first non-Brazilian club to clinch the trophy.

Newsletter Signup »

Why Signup?
This form is protected by reCAPTCHA.
The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android