Africa Women Cup of Nations

Africa Women Cup of Nations

About Africa Women Cup of Nations

Africa Women Cup of Nations History, Format, Organization, Media Coverage

The Africa Women Cup of Nations, formerly known as the Africa Women's Championship, is an international women's association football competition held in Africa. It was founded in 1991 and is run by the Confederation of African Football. The Africa Women Cup of Nations is played every two years.

The competition begins with the 12 countries that sailed through the qualifiers being drawn into three groups of four. The teams include the hosts of the tournament. Each side plays three matches in the group stage. A win attracts three points and a point is awarded for a defeat.

At the end of the group stages, teams that finish first and second on the table automatically progress to the knockout stage. They are subsequently joined by two of the best third-placed sides to make the set complete for the quarter-finals.

The quarter-finals, semi-finals, and final are all single-elimination matches. The winner of the final is crowned the champion. Relatively, teams that lose in the semi-finals feature in a third-place playoff.

The top three teams at the end of the competition qualify to participate in the subsequent edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup as Africa's representatives.

Newsletter Signup »

Why Signup?
This form is protected by reCAPTCHA.
The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
TV Schedules and Live Streaming Listings
Live Soccer TV App
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android