Live Soccer TV

Live Soccer TV App for iOS
Live Soccer TV App for Android

Lionel Messi outshines the rest in LFP awards as Barca and Madrid dominate

November 13, 2012 By Angela Asante
The 2012 LFP award winners list saw Barcelona and Real Madrid dominate. Lionel Messi stole the show by scooping two precious awards.

Lionel Messi won two LFP awards on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 as Barcelona and Real Madrid dominated.Argentina and Barcelona star Lionel Messi has won the 2011/12 LFP attacker and player of the season awards. La Pulga beat Karim Benzema and Cristiano Ronaldo to clinch the prizes. The gong winner, who recently smashed Pele’s record for the most number of goals in a calendar year, told the press:

“For those two awards, I want to thank the coaches that voted me the best forward and to my colleagues who voted me the best player.

“It's a very big honour to be able to receive these awards. I won it last year too, it's a great satisfaction and an enormous joy.”

Carles Puyol was also very proud to win the Fair Play award. Showing his gratitude in a way that would inspire growing talents, the Catalan captain declared:


“It's an honour to receive the fair play award being a defender. It's one of the things that I've always considered important: to compete strongly but always with nobility.

“This is what I have tried to do since I started out until now.”

Barcelona continue to lead in the 2012/13 Spanish Primera Division table with an eight-point advantage over bitter rivals Real Madrid. Meanwhile, the campaign is on pause due to Wednesday’s international friendly fixtures. Several Barcelona and Real Madrid players will unite as Spain take on Panama. Meanwhile, Lionel Messi is set to captain Argentina in a friendly match against Saudi Arabia.

The LFP award winners list is as follows:

Best goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
Best defender: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Best holding midfielder: Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
Best attacking midfielder: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Best attacker: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Best coach: Pep Guardiola (Barcelona)
Talent of the year: Isco (Malaga)
Fair Play award: Carles Puyol (Barcelona)

Newsletter Signup »

Email: Why Signup?

Upcoming Top Matches »

LiverpoolApr 28
Stoke City
Bayern MünchenApr 28
Eintracht Frankfurt
Swansea CityApr 28
Real MadridApr 28
Manchester UnitedApr 29
Deportivo La CoruñaApr 29
Real MadridMay 1
Bayern München
RomaMay 2
Brighton & Hove AlbionMay 4
Manchester United
KölnMay 5
Bayern München
Live Soccer TV App
Follow the game on the go
Download the Live Soccer TV App for
iPhone and Android
Live Soccer TV App for iOSLive Soccer TV App for Android